Nebraska's Federal All-In-One Poster Poster Required
The Nebraska's Federal All-In-One Poster is a job safety law poster by the Nebraska Department Of Labor. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in Nebraska, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all employees will see it. this poster describes how employers are to protect their employees from safety and health concerns in the workplace as well as what penalties employers can face if they refuse to eliminate workplace hazards or other failures that are punishable by law.
NE All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Nebraska and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
EMPLOYEE RIGHTS UNDER THE FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT Eligible employees who work for a covered employer can take up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave in a 12-month period for the following reasons:• The birth of a child or placement of a child for adoption or foster care; • To bond with a child (leave must be taken within 1 year of the child’s birth or placement); • To care for the employee’s spouse, child, or parent who has a qualifying serious health condition; • For the employee’s own qualifying serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the employee’s job; • For qualifying exigencies related to the foreign deployment of a military member who is the employee’s spouse, child, or parent. An eligible employee who is a covered servicemember’s spouse, child, parent, or next of kin may also take up to 26 weeks of FMLA leave in a single 12-month period to care for the servicemember with a serious injury or illness. An employee does not need to use leave in one block. When it is medically necessary or otherwise permitted, employees may take leave intermittently or on a reduced schedule. Employees may choose, or an employer may require, use of accrued paid leave while taking FMLA leave. If an employee substitutes accrued paid leave for FMLA leave, the employee must comply with the employer’s normal paid leave policies. While employees are on FMLA leave, employers must continue health insurance coverage as if the employees were not on leave. Upon return from FMLA leave, most employees must be restored to the same job or one nearly identical to it with equivalent pay, benefits, and other employment terms and conditions. An employer may not interfere with an individual’s FMLA rights or retaliate against someone for using or trying to use FMLA leave, opposing any practice made unlawful by the FMLA, or being involved in any proceeding under or related to the FMLA. An employee who works for a covered employer must meet three criteria in order to be eligible for FMLA leave. The employee must: • Have worked for the employer for at least 12 months; • Have at least 1,250 hours of service in the 12 months before taking leave;* and • Work at a location where the employer has at least 50 employees within 75 miles of the employee’s worksite. *Special “hours of service” requirements apply to airline flight crew employees. Generally, employees must give 30-days’ advance notice of the need for FMLA leave. If it is not possible to give 30-days’ notice, an employee must notify the employer as soon as possible and, generally, follow the employer’s usual procedures. Employees do not have to share a medical diagnosis, but must provide enough information to the employer so it can determine if the leave qualifies for FMLA protection. Sufficient information could include informing an employer that the employee is or will be unable to perform his or her job functions, that a family member cannot perform daily activities, or that hospitalization or continuing medical treatment is necessary. Employees must inform the employer if the need for leave is for a reason for which FMLA leave was previously taken or certified. Employers can require a certification or periodic recertification supporting the need for leave. If the employer determines that the certification is incomplete, it must provide a written notice indicating what additional information is required. Once an employer becomes aware that an employee’s need for leave is for a reason that may qualify under the FMLA, the employer must notify the employee if he or she is eligible for FMLA leave and, if eligible, must also provide a notice of rights and responsibilities under the FMLA. If the employee is not eligible, the employer must provide a reason for ineligibility. Employers must notify its employees if leave will be designated as FMLA leave, and if so, how much leave will be designated as FMLA leave. Employees may file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, or may bring a private lawsuit against an employer. The FMLA does not affect any federal or state law prohibiting discrimination or supersede any state or local law or collective bargaining agreement that provides greater family or medical leave rights. LEAVE ENTITLEMENTS BENEFITS & PROTECTIONS ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 1-866-4-USWAGE www.dol.gov/whd For additional information or to file a complaint: (1-866-487-9243) TTY: 1-877-889-5627 U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division T HE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION WH1420 REV 04/16 REQUESTING LEAVE EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES ENFORCEMENT 1-866-487-9243 TTY: 1-877-889-5627 www.dol.gov/whd WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WH1088 REV 07/16 OVERTIME PAY At least 1½ times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek. CHILD LABOR An employee must be at least 16 years old to work in most non-farm jobs \ and at least 18 to work in non-farm jobs declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and 15 years old may work outside school hours in various non-manufacturing, non-mining, non-\ hazardous jobs with certain work hours restrictions. Different rules apply in agricultural employment. TIP CREDIT Employers of “tipped employees” who meet certain conditions may cl\ aim a partial wage credit based on tips received by their employees. Employers must pay tipped employees a cash w\ age of at least $2.13 per hour if they claim a tip credit against their minimum wage obligation. If an employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage of at least $2.13 per hour do not equal the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference. NURSING MOTHERS The FLSA requires employers to provide reasonable break time for a nursing mother employee who is subject to the FLSA’s overtime requirements in order for the employee to express breast milk for her nursing child for one year after the child’s birth each time such employee has a need to express breast milk. Employers are also required to provide a place, other than a bathroom, that is shielded from view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public, which may be used by the employee to express breast milk. ENFORCEMENT The Department has authority to recover back wages and an equal amount in liquidated damages in instances of minimum wage, overtime, and other violations. The Depart\ ment may litigate and/or recommend criminal prosecution. Employers may be assessed civil money penalties for each willful or repeated violation of the minimum wage or overtime pay provisions of the law. Civil money penalties may also be assessed for violations of the FLSA’s child labor provisions. Heightened civil money penalties may be assessed for each child labor vi\ olation that results in the death or serious injury of any minor employee, and such assessments \ may be doubled when the violations are determined to be willful or repeated. The law also prohibits retaliating against or discharging workers who file a complaint or participate in any proceeding under the FLSA. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION • Certain occupations and establishments are exempt from the minimum wage, and/or overtime pay provisions. • Special provisions apply to workers in American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Nor\ thern Mariana Islands, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. • Some state laws provide greater employee protections; employers must comply with both. • Some employers incorrectly classify workers as “independent contractors” when they are actually employees under the FLSA. It is important to know the difference between the two because employees (unless exempt) are entitled to the FLSA’s minimum wage and overtime pay protections and correctly classified independent contractors are not. • Certain full-time students, student learners, apprentices, and workers with disabilities may be paid less than the minimum wage under special certificates issued by the\ Department of Labor. EMPLOYEE RIGHTS UNDER THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT The law requires employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it. Job Safety and Health IT’S THE LAW! All workers have the right to: A safe workplace. Raise a safety or health concern with your employer or OSHA, or report a work- related injury or illness, without being retaliated against. Receive information and training on job hazards, including all hazardous substances in your workplace. Request an OSHA inspection of your workplace if you believe there are unsafe or unhealthy conditions. OSHA will keep your name confidential. You have the right to have a representative contact OSHA on your behalf. Participate (or have your representative participate) in an OSHA inspection and speak in private to the inspector. File a complaint with OSHA within 30 days (by phone, online or by mail) if you have been retaliated against for using your rights. See any OSHA citations issued to your employer. Request copies of your medical records, tests that measure hazards in the workplace, and the workplace injury and illness log. Employers must: Provide employees a workplace free from recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate against an employee for using any of their rights under the law, including raising a health and safety concern with you or with OSHA, or reporting a work-related injury or illness. Comply with all applicable OSHA standards. Report to OSHA all work-related fatalities within 8 hours, and all inpatient hospitalizations, amputations and losses of an eye within 24 hours. Provide required training to all workers in a language and vocabulary they can understand. Prominently display this poster in the workplace. Post OSHA citations at or near the place of the alleged violations. FREE ASSISTANCE to identify and correct hazards is available to small and medium- sized employers, without citation or penalty, through OSHA-supported consultation programs in every state. U.S. Department of Labor Contact OSHA. We can help. 1-800-321-OSHA (6742) • TTY 1-877-889-5627 • www.osha.gov This poster is available free from OSHA. OSHA 3165-04R 2015 This poster does not necessarily fulfill ALL federal workplace poster requirements for your business. The Employee Polygraph Protection Act Notice and federal poster supplements are not included. Go to www.dol.gov/general/topics/posters/ for posters, supplements, and posting requirements. Updated: 9/21/16
Other Nebraska Labor Law Posters 5 PDFS
There are an additional seven optional and mandatory Nebraska labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Mandatory Unemployment Insurance Advisement of Benefit Rights||Unemployment Law|
|Mandatory Nebraska Minimum Wage (2016)||Minimum Wage Law|
|Mandatory Nebraska's Federal All-In-One Poster||Job Safety Law|
|Mandatory 3-In-One Labor Poster||General Labor Law Poster|
|Mandatory Discrimination in Employment, Housing, and Public Accommodations is Prohibited by State Law||Equal Opportunity Law|
While we do our best to keep our list of Nebraska labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.