Required Workplace Posting for All California Barbering and Cosmetology Licensees Poster
The Required Workplace Posting for All California Barbering and Cosmetology Licensees is a labor law posters poster by the California Department Of Industrial Relations. This poster is mandatory for some employers, including all businesses employing licensed barbers and cosmetologists.
This poster is mandatory for display in all California businesses employing licensed barbers or cosmetologists, such as hair salons and beauty parlors. The publication and provides a summary of wage laws, labor laws, and protections that apply to workers in this industry.
Copies of this poster are also available in Korean, Spanish and Vietnamese from the CA Department of Industrial Relation’s (DIR) website.
CA All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both California and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
Required Workplace Posting for All California Barbering and Cosmetology Licensees In California, all workers are protected by labor laws. You have the right to be treated fairly at your workplace no matte r where you were born or whether you have papers to work. The Labor Commissioner ’s Office is the state agency that enforces minimum labor standards to ensur e you are not required to work under substandard, unlawful conditions. You may file a claim regardless of your immigration status and do not need a Social Security number or photo identification in order to file a claim or report a violat ion. You do not need a lawyer to file a wage claim and the Labor Commissioner’s Office will provide an interpreter in your language. Misclassification of an employee as an independent contractor A worker that is considered an “employee” as opposed to an “independent contractor” (sometimes referred to as a “10-99 worker”) is entitled to many workplace protections under State labor laws. A person is an “employee” if the conditions of work show an employment relationship applying special definitions stated in the law. Employees must be paid minimum wage, allowed meal and rest breaks, able to earn overtime and are entitled to sick leave, among other ri ghts and protections. There is a general presumption that a person who performs services for a business is an employee. A person who qualifies as an employee may be im properly treated as an independent contractor. Simply calling a worker an independent contractor does not make them one and an employee who is misclassified as an independent contractor is subject to the rights and pr otections of an employee. An employer may be responsible for owed wages, interest, damages, and may be subject to penalties due to the misclassified employee. Generally speaking, the more control an employer has over how the employee works such as determining their rate of pay , their price list, what hours they work and when they work, or cont rol other general working conditions, the more likely the worker is an employee and not an independent contractor. Minimum wage, overtime compensation, meal periods, and rest periods As of January 1, 201 8 the minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees is $10. 50 an hour and $1 1.00 an hour for employers with 26 or more employees. If you are paid by piece rate , per hour, by commission, or paid by the day, your wages still have to equal at least minimum wage for all the hours you Notice required by California Business and Professions Code section 7353.4 & Labor Code section 98.10 (AB 2437, Chapter 357, Statutes of 2016) Page 2 of 3 worked. The minimum wage will increase on January 1 of each year for the next several years. Employers must pay overtime Most workers in California must receive overtime pay of: 1.5 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 a day. Double the regular pay for all hours worked over 12 a day. If a worker works seven days in a wo rkweek, the worker must be paid: 1.5 times the regular rate of pay fo r the first 8 hours on the seventh day, and Double the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 hours on the seventh day. Meals and rest breaks Your employer must allow you to take a break for meals and rest. Most workers in California must receive an uninterr upted and duty free 30-minute unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked. Also, a paid 10-minute rest period for every 4 hours worked. You may be entitled to a re st break even if you work less than 4 hours. An employer who fails to provide a duty-free meal period or rest break must pay an amount of one hour’s pay for each day that a meal or rest period is not provided. Tip or gratuity distribution If a customer offers you a tip your employer cannot take any portion of it. If a tip pooling policy exists at the business and more than one worker assists a customer but t he customer only tips one wo rker, that worker may be required to share that tip with the ot her worker if the policy requires it. All tips received by workers must be in addition to wages. Your employer cannot count your tips towards your hourly wage or your commission. Any tips paid on a credit card must be paid to you by the following pay day. Your employer cannot deduct any fees or charges from tips paid for by a credit card. Business expense reimbursement An employee is entitled to reimbursement for all expenses or losses incurred by the worker in the course of performing their job. For example, an employer cannot require an employee to buy certai n tools, including instruments or a uniform, unless the employer pays for the tools or uniform. Protection from retaliation It is illegal for employers to retaliate agai nst workers. Your boss cannot take any action to discipline, demote, punish, adver sely change your working conditions, or fire you or your co-workers for reporting a labor law viol ation, a work-related injury, Notice required by California Business and Professions Code section 7353.4 & Labor Code section 98.10 (AB 2437, Chapter 357, Statutes of 2016)
Other California Labor Law Posters 4 PDFS
There are an additional 33 optional and mandatory California labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
- Original poster PDF https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/publications/Barbering%20and%20cosmetology%20posting%20notice.pdf , updated February 2022
- California Labor Law Posters at http://www.dir.ca.gov/wpnodb.html
- California Department Of Industrial Relations
While we do our best to keep our list of California labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.