Rhode Island Rhode Island Child Labor Laws
The Rhode Island Child Labor Laws is a child labor law poster by the Rhode Island Department Of Labor and Training. This is an optional poster, so while it is recommended that you post this if it is relevant to your employees, you are not required to by the Department Of Labor and Training.
This poster is optional to post and describes the restrictions in hours and jobs that minors can work and where to get permits so minors can work.
RI All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Rhode Island and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
What You Should Know Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training Both Rhode Island State and Federal laws regulate the employment of minors. These laws were written to protect younger workers from long hours and hazardous jobs. By following the laws, younger workers can EARN SAFELY and GAIN EXPERIENCE! DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids & services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. TTY via RI Relay 711 Jobs in which youth CANNOT be employed include: Manufacturing Various Products Mining Logging and Sawmilling Wrecking Demolition and Shipbreaking Any job requiring Operating Power-driven Machines Roofing Excavating and more Jobs in which youth CAN be employed include: Office and Clerical Work Retail and Sales Advertising Price Marketing and Tagging Bagging and Carrying Out Orders Errand and Delivery Work Cleanup Work Ground Maintenance Kitchen Work and Wait Staff and more You must be 14 years old to work legally in Rhode Island You MUST have a Special Limited Permit to Work form to be employed if you’re 14-15 You MAY need a Certificate of Age form to be employed if you’re 16-17 Hours that Youth CAN Work: Up to but not exceeding 48 hours per week / 9 hours per day for 16-17 year olds; Up to but not exceeding 40 hours per week/8 hours per day for 14-15 year olds Not before 6:00 AM or after 11:30 PM on School Days, or after 1:30 AM the night before a school day for 16-17 year olds. There is no curfew for non-students. Not before 6:00 AM or after 7:00 PM for 14-15 year olds. The curfew is 9:00 PM during school vacations. Must have an 8-hour rest between the end of one shift and the start of the next shift To Get Working Papers: Visit your local school department with proof of your age (Birth or Baptismal Certificate, Driver’s License, Passport, School Records) They will issue your Certificate of Age or Special Limited Permit to Work form depending on your age For More Information: Phone: (401) 462-8550 | Fax: (401) 462-8530 Web: www.dlt.ri.gov/ls/childlabor.htm | E-mail: D LT. [email protected] For Federal Information: US Department of Labor, Wage and Hour | Phone: (866) 4US-WAGE | Web: www.youthrules.gov
Other Rhode Island Labor Law Posters 5 PDFS
There are an additional eleven optional and mandatory Rhode Island labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Mandatory Acta de Compensacion de Trabajadores (Spanish)||Workers Compensation Law|
|Mandatory Workers' Compensation Act||Workers Compensation Law|
|Mandatory Rhode Island Unemployment Insurance and Temporary Disability Insurance Law||Unemployment Law|
|Mandatory Minimum Wage||Minimum Wage Law|
|Mandatory Minimum Wage (Spanish)||Minimum Wage Law|
While we do our best to keep our list of Rhode Island labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.