Rhode Island Minimum Wage Poster Required
The Minimum Wage is a minimum wage law poster by the Rhode Island Department Of Labor and Training. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in Rhode Island, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place by all employers so that all employees can see it. This poster describes what the minimum wage is, who is exempt from the minimum wage, how overtime pay is calculated, restrictions on child labor, minimum shift hours for employees requested or permitted to report for duty at the beginning of a work shift, and information on how this law is enforced.
RI All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Rhode Island and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
Attention MINIMUM WAGE - RHODE ISLAND Employees Effective January 1, 2017 THIS LAW PROVIDES..... HOURLY MINIMUM WAGE FOR ALL EMPLOYEES $9.60 as of 1/1/16 EXCEPT: Full time students under 19 years of age working in $8.64 a non-profit religious, educational, librarial or (90% of Minimum Wage) community services organization. Minors 14 and 15 years of age working $7.20 not more than 24 hours in a week (75% of Minimum Wage) Employees receiving gratuities (as of Jan. 1, 2017): $3.89 OVERTIME PAY - At least 1 1/2 times your regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in any one work week. Note: The law contains exemptions from the minimum wage and/or overtime pay requirements for certain occupations or establishments. *Learners and Handicapped workers may be paid less than the applicable minimum but only under certificate issued at the discretion of the Director of Labor and Training. MANDATORY NURSE OVERTIME - Pursuant to RI Law §23-17.20-1 et. seq., a hospital may not require certain nurses and certified nurse assistants to work overtime except in an unforeseeable emergent circumstance MINIMUM SHIFT HOURS - Any employee requested or permitted to report for duty at the beginning of a work shift must be provided with 3 hours work or 3 hours wages. Employees working in retail establishments must be provided with 4 hours work on Sundays and/or holidays. CHILD LABOR - You must be at least 16 years old to work in most nonfarm jobs; at least 18 to work in nonfarm jobs declared hazardous by the United States Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and 15 may work, with a special permit issued by local school officials, in various jobs outside school hours under certain conditions. Different rules apply to agriculture employment. ENFORCEMENT - The Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training may bring criminal action against any employer who pays substandard wages to an employee and seek, upon conviction, a penalty up to $500.00 and/or imprisonment of up to 90 days. Each week an employer fails to pay the applicable minimum wage constitutes a separate violation. Any employer who hinders or delays the Director or his/her authorized representative in the performance of his/her duties in the enforcement of the law, refuses to admit the Director or said representative to any place of employment, or fails to make, keep, and preserve any records as required, or falsifies any such record, or refuses to make such record accessible to the Director or said representative upon demand, or refuses to furnish a sworn statement of such record or any other information needed for the proper enforcement of this law shall be deemed in violation of the law and subject to a fine of up to $500.00. Each day such violation occurs constitutes a separate offense. THE LAW REQUIRES EMPLOYERS TO DISPLAY THIS POSTER WHERE EMPLOYEES CAN READILY SEE IT. For more information on the Rhode Island Minimum Wage Law Call (401) 462-8550 or visit www.dlt.ri.gov Labor Standards Unit Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training DLT - L - 58 (Rev.1/17) DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program, auxiliary aids and services are available on request to individuals with disabilities. TTY via RI Relay 711
Other Rhode Island Labor Law Posters 5 PDFS
There are an additional eleven optional and mandatory Rhode Island labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Mandatory Acta de Compensacion de Trabajadores (Spanish)||Workers Compensation Law|
|Mandatory Workers' Compensation Act||Workers Compensation Law|
|Mandatory Rhode Island Unemployment Insurance and Temporary Disability Insurance Law||Unemployment Law|
|Mandatory Minimum Wage||Minimum Wage Law|
|Mandatory Minimum Wage (Spanish)||Minimum Wage Law|
While we do our best to keep our list of Rhode Island labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.