Your Rights Under Iowa's Minimum Wage Poster Required
The Your Rights Under Iowa's Minimum Wage is a labor law posters poster by the Iowa Department Of Workforce Development. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in Iowa, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all employees will see it. It describes where the minimum wage law applies as well as minimum wages for tipped and untipped workers. The current rate as of 2019 for employees is $7.25 per hour and $4.35 per hour for tipped servers that obtain more than $30.00 per month. Employers who violate the state's minimum wage law may have an action brought against them by the Iowa Division of Labor.
IA All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Iowa and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
Hourly Minimum Wage $7.25 Your Rights Under the Iowa Minimum Wage Law Contact Information Iowa Division of Labor 150 Des Moines Street Des Moines, IA 50309-1836 Phone: 515-725-5619 Fax: 515-725-4123 www.iowadivisionoflabor.gov Federal Minimum Wage and Overtime Pay Applications of the minimum wage rates under federal law differ from those under Iowa Law. Iowa employers must comply with the more stringent applicable law. Overtime is covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. Questions concerning federal law should be directed to: U.S. Department of Labor Wage & Hour Division 210 Walnut Street Des Moines, IA 50309 Phone: 515- 284-4625 www.dol.gov The law requires displaying this poster where it can easily be seen by all employees The minimum wage applies to most hourly wage earners employed in Iowa. Most small retail and service establishments grossing less than $300,000.00 annually are not required to pay the minimum wage. The majority of supervisory and administrative employees paid a salary are not cove red by the law. Employers may pay an initial employment rate of $6.35 for the first 90 calendar days of employment. TIP CREDIT – The employer’s share for tipped employees who customarily and regularly receive more than $30.00 a month in tips must be at l east $4.35 an hour. Enforcement The Iowa Divis ion of Labor may bring action against employers who violate the state’s minimum wage law. Courts may order payment of back wages. No employer can discriminate against or discharge an employee for filing a complaint or participating in a proceeding under this law. Equal Opportunity Employer/Program Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. For deaf and hard of hearing, use Relay 711 Revised 01.20.21
Other Iowa Labor Law Posters 4 PDFS
There are an additional six optional and mandatory Iowa labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
- Original poster PDF https://www.iowaworkforcedevelopment.gov/sites/search.iowaworkforcedevelopment.gov/files/State%20Min%20Wage.pdf , updated June 2023
- Iowa Labor Law Posters at https://www.iowaworkforcedevelopment.gov/required-employer-posters
- Iowa Department Of Workforce Development
While we do our best to keep our list of Iowa labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.