Connecticut Free Printable Child Labor Law Posters Connecticut Connecticut Restaurant and Food Service - Minors

The Connecticut Restaurant and Food Service - Minors is a child labor law poster by the Connecticut Department Of Labor. This poster is mandatory for some employers, including employers of minors who are in the restaurant or hotel restaurant business.

This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all minor employees will see it that are in the restaurant or hotel restaurant industry. This poster describes minimum wages that must be paid to regular minor workers as well as handicapped minor workers and restrictions on hours minors can work. This poster also describes penalties to employers for violating this law.


CT All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Connecticut and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .

It appears you don't have a PDF plugin for this browser. Please see the link below to download connecticut-poster-minorsrestaurant.pdf.

s
Time and Hour Restrictions
for Young Persons Under Age 18 
    During school weeks (16-17 years of age):
     6 a.m. to 11 p.m. (midnight if no school the next day) no more than  
    6 hours per day/32 hours per week. 
    No more than 8 hours per day on non-school days or days not  
               preceding a school day (generally Friday, Saturday or Sunday).
 
 
            During non-school weeks (16-17 years of age):
             8 hours per day/48 hours per week - no more than 6 days per week.\
           Minors who have withdrawn from school
           may work no more than 9 hours per day within the times  
                                       listed for non-school weeks.
                  No person under age 16 may be employed   
            in a restaurant or public dining room. 
Minimum Wage
$8.70 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2014
$9.15 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2015
$9.60 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2016
$10.10 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2017
A Statement of Age/Working Paper is required
for all employees under the age of 18.
Inquiries or complaints of violation should be sent to:
Connecticut Department of Labor - Wage & Workplace Standards Division
200 Folly Brook Boulevard - Wethersfield, CT 06109
(860) 263-6791 - www.ct.gov/dol
This notice shall be posted in a conspicuous place in rooms  
where minors are employed. See applicable laws on back.
          
        Connecticut Law (C.G.S. 31-18) Regarding
      Employment of Minors 
  in Restaurant/Food Service
WPR-1 (Rev 5/14)

RESTAURANT-RELATED CONNECTICUT GENERAL STATUTES 
 
Sec. 31-23. Employment of minors prohibited in certain occupations. Exceptions.  (a) No minor under sixteen years of 
age shall be employed or permitted to work in any manufacturing,  mechanical, mercantile or theatrical industry, restaurant or 
public dining room, or in any bowling alley, shoe-shining  establishment or barber shop, provided the Labor Commissioner 
may authorize such employment of any minor between the ages of fourteen and sixteen who is enrolled in (1) a public school 
in a work-study program as defined and approved by the Commissioner of Education and the Labor Commissioner or in a 
program established pursuant to section 10-20a or (2) a summer work-recreation program sponsored by a town, city or 
borough or by a human resources development agency which has been approved by the Labor Commissioner, or both, and 
provided the prohibitions of this section shall not apply to  any minor over the age of fourteen who is under vocational 
probation pursuant to an order of the Superior Court as provided in section 46b-140 or to any minor over the age of fourteen 
who has been placed on vocational parole by  the Commissioner of Children and Families. 
 
(d) Each person who employs a minor under the age of eighteen y ears shall obtain a certificate stating the age of such minor 
as provided in section 10-193. Such certificates shall be kept on fi le at the place of employment and shall be available at all 
times during business hours to the inspectors of the Labor Department. 
 
Sec. 31-18. Hours of labor of minors, elderly and handicapped persons in certain other establishments.  (a) No public 
restaurant, cafe, dining room, barber shop, hairdressing  or manicuring establishment, amusement or recreational 
establishment, bowling alley, shoe-shining establishment, billiard  or pool room or photograph gallery shall employ or permit 
to work any person under eighteen years of age (1) between the  hours of ten o'clock in the evening and six o'clock in the 
morning, or any of the persons described  below under conditions herein set forth more than nine hours in any day: (A) 
Persons sixty-six years of age or older, except with their  consent; (B) handicapped persons, so designated by medical or 
governmental authority, except with their consent and after certif ication by a physician that the extended hours of work will 
not be injurious to their health; (C) disabled veterans, as define d under state or federal law, except with their consent and 
after certification by a physician that the extended hours of wo rk will not be injurious to their health; provided any such 
person may be permitted to work in any such  establishment one day in a week for not more than ten hours on such day, but 
not more than six days or forty-eight hours in any one w eek, and provided further, persons between sixteen and eighteen 
years of age may be employed in any amusement or recreational  establishment, restaurant, cafe or dining room, or employed 
in any theater until twelve o'clock midnight unless such pe rsons are regularly attending school in which case such minors 
may be employed until eleven o'clock in the evening on da ys which precede a regularly scheduled school day and until 
twelve o'clock midnight during any regular school vacation sea son and on days which do not precede a regularly scheduled 
school day, and (2) more than (A) six hours in any regularly  scheduled school day unless the regularly scheduled school day 
immediately precedes a nonschool day or eight hours in any othe r day, and (B) thirty-two hours in any calendar week during 
which the school in which such person is enrolled is in session  or forty-eight hours in any other calendar week during which 
the school in which such person is enrolled is not in session. Notwithstanding any provision of  this section, the number of 
hours such person participates in a work experience that is pa rt of an approved educational plan, cooperative program or 
school-to-work program shall not be counted against the daily or weekly limits set forth in this section. 
(b) The hours of labor of such persons sh all be conspicuously posted in such establishment in such form and manner as the 
Labor Commissioner determines. 
(c) The provisions of this section shall not apply to any  person under eighteen years of age who has graduated from a 
secondary educational institution. 
 
Sec. 31-15a. Criminal penalty.  Any employer, officer, agent or other person who violates any provision of section 31-12, 
31-13 or 31-14, subsection (a) of section 31- 15 or section 31-18, 31-23 or 31-24 shall be fined not less than two thousand nor 
more than five thousand dollars or imprisoned not  more than five years, or both, for each offense.  
 
Sec. 31-69a. Additional penalty.  (a) In addition to the penalties provided in this chapter and chapter 568, any employer, 
officer, agent or other person who violates any provision of this  chapter or subsection (g) of section 31-288, shall be liable to 
the Labor Department for a civil penalty of three hundred dollars for each violation of said chapters and for each violation of  
subsection (g) of section 31-288. 
 
      (b) In addition to the penalties provided in this chap ter and chapter 557, any employer, officer, agent or other person w ho 
violates any provision of section 31-12, 31-13 or 31-14, subsecti on (a) of section 31-15 or section 31-18, 31-23 or 31-24 shall 
be liable to the Labor Department for a civil penalty of  six hundred dollars for each violation of said sections.
download

Other Connecticut Labor Law Posters 5 PDFS

There are an additional eight optional and mandatory Connecticut labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.

Poster Name Poster Type
Mandatory Connecticut Workers' Compensation Commission Workers Compensation Law
Mandatory Electronic Monitoring Surveillance Law
Mandatory Connecticut Wage & Workplace Administrative Regulations General Labor Law Poster
Mandatory Connecticut Wage & Workplace Administrative Regulations (Spanish) General Labor Law Poster
Mandatory Connecticut Restaurant and Food Service (English) Miscellaneous Law

View all 9 Connecticut labor law posters


Get a Connecticut all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Connecticut and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Connecticut and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for 2017!

Get All-In-One Poster Now

Poster Sources:

Disclaimer:

While we do our best to keep our list of Connecticut labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.

** This Document Provided By LaborPosters.org **
Source: http://www.laborposters.org/connecticut/64-connecticut-restaurant-and-food-service-minors-poster.htm