Connecticut Mercantile and Retail - Minors Poster
The Connecticut Mercantile and Retail - Minors is a child labor law poster by the Connecticut Department Of Labor. This poster is mandatory for some employers, including employers of minors who are in mercantile trade or retail.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all minor employees will see it that are in the mercantile trade or retail industry. It describes minimum wages that must be paid to regular minor workers as well as minor handicapped workers and restrictions on when minors can work. This poster also describes penalties to employers for violating this law and shows the general statutes related to mercantile/retail trades. As of 2017, the current minimum wage rate for minors is $10.10 per hour.
CT All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Connecticut and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
s Time and Hour Restrictions for Young Persons Under Age 18 During school weeks (16-17 years of age): - 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. (If no school the next day, permitted hours are extended to 11 p.m. or midnight if employed in a supermarket of more than 3,500 sq. f\ t. in size). - No more than 6 hours per day/32 hours per week/6 days per week. - No more than 8 hours per day on non-school days or days not preceding\ a school day (normally Friday, Saturday or Sunday). During non-school weeks (16-17 years of age): - 8 hours per day/48 hours per week - no more than 6 days per week. Minors who have withdrawn from school are subject to the non-school week restrictions. 15-Year-Old Minors can be employed as baggers, cashiers or stock clerks in most mercantile/retail establishments and may work during non-school weeks only - for no longer than 8 hours per day, 40 hours per week, between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m., except from July 1 through Labor Day, when evening hours may be extended until 9 p.m. Retail food stores may employ 15-year-old minors on Saturdays only until 7 p.m. for no longer than 8 hours during the school year. Minimum Wage $8.70 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2014 $9.15 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2015 $9.60 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2016 $10.10 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2017 A Statement of Age/Working Paper is required for all employees under the age of 18. Inquiries or complaints of violation should be sent to: Connecticut Department of Labor - Wage & Workplace Standards Division 200 Folly Brook Boulevard - Wethersfield, CT 06109 (860) 263-6791 - www.ct.gov/dol This notice shall be posted in a conspicuous place in rooms where minors are employed. See applicable laws on back. Connecticut Law Regarding Employment of Minors in Mercantile/Retail Trades WPM-1 (Rev 5/14) MERCANTILE/RETAIL-R ELATED CONNECTICUT GENERAL STATUTES Sec. 31-23. Employment of minors prohib ited in certain occupations. Exceptions. (a) No minor under sixteen years of age shall be employed or permitted to work in any manufacturing, mechanical, mercantile or theatrical industry, restaurant or public dining room, or in any bowling alley, shoe-shining establishment or barber shop, provided the Labor Commissioner may authorize such employment of any minor between the ages of fourteen and sixteen who is enrolled in (1) a public school in a work-study program as defined an d approved by the Commissioner of Education and the Labor Commissioner or in a program established pursuant to section 10-20a or (2) a summer work-recreation program sponsored by a town, city or borough or by a human resources development agency which has been approved by the Labor Commissioner, or both, and provided the prohibitions of this section shall not apply to any minor over th e age of fourteen who is under vocational probation pursuant to an order of the Superior Court as provided in section 46b-140 or to any minor over the age of fourteen who has been placed on vocatio nal parole by the Commissioner of Children and Families. (b) (1) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, a minor who has reached the age of fourteen may be emplo yed or permitted to work as a caddie or in a pro shop at any municipal or private golf course, and a minor who has reached the age of fifteen may be employed or permitted to work in any mercantile establishm ent, from September 30, 2002, to September 30, 2007, inclusive, as a bagger, cashier or stock clerk, provided such employment shall be (A) limited to periods of school vacation during which scho ol is not in session for five consecutive days or more except that such minor employed in a retail food store may work on any Saturday during the year; (B) for not more than forty hours in any week; (C) for not more than eight hours in any day; and (D) between the hours of seven o'clock in the morning and seven o'clock in the evening, except that from July first to the first Monday in September in any ye ar, any such minor may be employed until nine o'clock in the evening. (2) (A) Each person who employs a fourteen-year-old minor as a ca ddie or in a pro shop at any municipal or private golf course pursuant to this section shall obtain a certificate stating that such minor is fourteen years of age or older, as provided in section 10-193, and (B) each person who employs a fifteen-year-old minor in any mercantile establishment pursuant to this subsection shall obtain a certificate stating that such minor is fifteen years of age or older, as provided in section 10-193. Such certificate shall be kept on file at the place of employment and shall be available at all tim es during business hours to the inspectors of the Labor Department. (3) The Labor Commissioner may adopt regulations, in accordance with the provisions of chapter 54, as the commissioner deems necessary to implement the provisions of this subsection. (d) Each person who employs a minor under the age of eighteen year s shall obtain a certificate stating the age of such minor as provided in section 10-193. Such certificates shall be kept on file at the place of employment and shall be available at all times durin g business hours to the inspectors of the Labor Department. Sec. 31-13. Hours of labor of minors, elderly and handicapped persons in mercantile establishments . (a) None of the following persons under the conditions hereinafter described shall be employ ed in any mercantile establishment more than eight hours in any one day, or more than six days in any one calendar week or more than forty-eight hours in any one calendar week: (1) Persons under the age of eighteen years who are not enrolled in and have not graduated from a secondary educational institution; (2) persons sixty-si x years of age or older, except with their consent; (3) handicapped persons, so designated by medical or governmental authority, except wi th their consent and after certification by a physician that the extended hours of work will not be injurious to their health; (4) disab led veterans, as defined under state or federal law, except with their consen t and after certification by a physician that the extended hours of work will not be injurious to their health; but any such person may be permitted to work in any such establishment one day in any calenda r week for not more than ten hours, for the purpose of making one shorter day during such week, and any employer who, during any year, gives not fewer than seven holidays with pay shall be exempt from the foregoing provisions hereof during the period from the eighteen th to the twenty-fifth day of December of such year. (c) No person under eighteen years of age shall be employed in any mercantile establishment more than (1) six hours in any regular ly scheduled school day unless the regularly scheduled school day immediately precedes a nonschool day or eight hours in any other day, and (2) thirty-two hours in any calendar week during which the sc hool in which such person is enrolled is in session, or forty-eight hours in any other calendar week during which the school in which such person is enrolled is not is session. Notwithstanding any provision of this section, the number of hours such pers on participates in a work experience that is part of an approved educational plan, c ooperative program or school-to-work program shall not be counted against the daily or weekly limits set forth in this section. Sec. 31-14. Night work of minors regulated . (a) No person under eighteen years of age shall be employed in any manufacturing, mechanical or mercantile establishment between the hours of ten o'clock in the evening and six o'clock in the morning, except that such persons may be employed in any manufacturing, mechanical or me rcantile establishment until eleven o'clock in the evening or any supermarket until twelve o'clock midnight on any night other than a night preceding a regularly scheduled school day. No such person may be discharged or discriminated against in any manner for refusing to work later than ten o'clock in the evening. Sec. 31-15a. Criminal penalty. Any employer, officer, agent or other person who violates any provision of section 31-12, 31-13 or 31- 14, subsection (a) of section 31-15 or section 31-18, 31-23 or 31-24 shall be fined not less than two thousand nor more than fi ve thousand dollars or imprisoned not more th an five years, or both, for each offense. Sec. 31-69a. Additional penalty. (a) In addition to the penalties provided in this chapter and chapter 568, any employer, officer, agent or other person who violates any provision of this chapter or subsection (g) of section 31-288, shall be liable to the Labor De partment for a civil penalty of three hundred dollars fo r each violation of said chapters and for each violation of subsection (g) of sectio n 31-288. (b) In addition to the penalties provided in this chapter and chapter 557, any employer, officer, agent or other person who violat es any provision of section 31-12, 31-13 or 31-14, subsection (a) of section 31-15 or section 31-18, 31-23 or 31-24 shall be liable to the Labor Department for a civil penalty of six hundred dollars for each violation of said sections.
Other Connecticut Labor Law Posters 5 PDFS
There are an additional eight optional and mandatory Connecticut labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Mandatory Connecticut Workers' Compensation Commission||Workers Compensation Law|
|Mandatory Electronic Monitoring Poster||Surveillance Law|
|Mandatory Connecticut OHA Managed Care Poster||General Labor Law Poster|
|Mandatory Sexual Harassment is Illegal Poster||General Labor Law Poster|
|Mandatory Discrimination is Illegal (Spanish)||General Labor Law Poster|
While we do our best to keep our list of Connecticut labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.