Workplace Safety and Health in the State of Utah Poster Required
The Workplace Safety and Health in the State of Utah is a job safety law poster by the Utah Labor Commission. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in Utah, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place by all employers so that all employees can see it. This poster describes the responsibilities of employees and employers to comply with state rules and regulations regarding workplace safety and health rules, the rights of employees to request an inspection if they believe they are working under unsafe or unhealthful conditions, the right of employees to file complaints against employers if employers retaliate against an employee for requesting an inspection, and penalties employers can pay if they are not up to safety and health standards.
UT All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Utah and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
Workplace Safety and Health in the State of Utah The Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1973 requires Utah employers to provide a safe and healthful workplace, free from recognized hazards that are likely to cause death or serious physical harm to employees. The Utah Occupational Safety and Health Division (UOSH) of the Utah Labor Commission, has the primary responsibility for administering the Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act. NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES You have the obligation to comply with all workplace safety and health rules established by your employer. You have the right to notify your employer or UOSH about workplace hazards. You may ask to keep your name confidential. You have the right to request a UOSH inspection if you believe that there are unsafe or unhealthful conditions in your workplace. You can file a complaint with UOSH if you feel that your employer has retaliated against you for making safety or health complaints, or for exercising your rights under the Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act. Such whistleblower complaints must be filed within 30 days. You have a right to see all UOSH citations issued to your employer. Your employer must post the citations at or near the place of the alleged violation. You may request an informal review of the abatement period granted to the employer. You have the right to know your employer is obligated to correct workplace hazards by the date indicated on the citation and must certify that these hazards have been reduced or eliminated. You have the right to copies of your medical records or records of your exposure to toxic and harmful substances or conditions. NOTICE TO EMPLOYERS UTAH EMPLOYERS ARE REQUIRED TO PROVIDE EMPLOYEES A SAFE AND HEALTHFUL WORKPLACE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS Employers are required to notify UOSH at (801) 530-6901 within 8 hours of occurrence of all fatalities, disabling, significant, and serious injuries or illnesses to workers. You can call in your report 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Tools, equipment, materials, or other evidence that might pertain to the cause of such accidents shall not be removed or destroyed until authorized by UOSH. You are also required to investigate all incidents of worker injuries and occupational illnesses. REPORTING GUIDANCE “Disabling and serious” includes, but is not limited to any injury or illness resulting in immediate admittance to the hospital, permanent or temporary impairment where part of the body is made functionally useless or is substantially reduced in efficiency and which would require treatment by a medical doctor, such as amputation, fracture, deep cuts, severe burns, electric shock, sight impairment, loss of consciousness, and concussions; illnesses that could shorten life or significantly reduce physical or mental efficiency inhibiting the normal function of a part of the body, such as cancer, silicosis, asbestosis, hearing impairment and visual impairment. INSPECTIONS, CITATIONS, ASSESSED PENALTIES UOSH may enter at reasonable times without delay any work place under its jurisdiction to conduct an inspection, investigation, or interview a reasonable number of employees to determine compliance with the Utah Act, rules and standards. Citations may be issued if an employer is in violation of any of those rules or standards. A serious violation may be assessed a proposed penalty of up to $7,000. Willful or Repeated violations may be assessed a proposed penalty up to $70,000. Failure to correct or abate a violation may result in additional penalties not to exceed $7,000 for each day each violation is not corrected. CONTESTS, APPEALS, INFORMAL REVIEW The Utah Labor Commission will provide an adjudicative formal hearing with its Division of Adjudication, when an employer files a written notice of contest within 30 days of receipt of the citation. Upon expiration of that 30 day period, the citation and proposed penalties are final and not subject to review by any court or agency. Employers may also request an informal review of any citation, proposed penalty or abatement period. Informal reviews do not extend the 30 days in which an employer must file a written notice of contest for a formal hearing. To report a workplace fatality or injury, file a workplace safety complaint, or for assistance please call (801) 530-6901 or (800) 530-5090. To file a safety complaint online or obtain more information about UOSH programs please visit our website www.laborcommission.utah.gov. To obtain more information about safety and health in the workplace, please contact the Consultation Program at (801) 530-6855 State of Utah Labor Commission Utah Occupational Safety and Health 160 East 300 South, Third Floor PO Box 146650 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6650 (801) 530-6901 Fax (801) 530-7606 Toll-Free 1-800-530-5090 www.laborcommission.utah.gov Reporting Injuries (801) 530-6901 Compliance Program (801) 530-6901 Consultation Program (801) 530-6855 “Working together we can make the beautiful State of Utah a safer place to work, elevating our safety and health culture to a higher level of excellence” Rev. 05.27.16
Other Utah Labor Law Posters 5 PDFS
There are an additional five optional and mandatory Utah labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Mandatory Pregnancy and Related Conditions under the Utah Antidiscrimination Act||Workers Rights Law|
|Mandatory Workers' Compensation Notice for the State of Utah||Workers Compensation Law|
|Mandatory Unemployment Insurance Notice to Workers||Unemployment Law|
|Mandatory Workplace Safety and Health in the State of Utah||Job Safety Law|
|Mandatory Pregnancy and Related Conditions under the Utah Antidiscrimination Act (Spanish)||Workers Rights Law|
While we do our best to keep our list of Utah labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.