We have launched a new user system and you need to reset your password to claim your free account. This only applies if you were already receiving email updates from us. If you can already log into your account, please disregard this message.

Tennessee Free Printable Labor Law Posters Posters Tennessee Wage Regulation Act and Child Labor Act Poster Required

 Tennessee Wage Regulation Act and Child Labor Act PDF

The Tennessee Wage Regulation Act and Child Labor Act is a labor law posters poster by the Tennessee Department Of Labor and Workforce Development. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in Tennessee, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.

The notice now states that minors aged 14 & 15 cannot work between the hours of 7:00 pm and 7:00 am on school nights, or between the hours of 9:00AM and 9:00PM on nights when there isn't school the next day. The notice now includes that employers must keep minor employees' parental consent forms in their personnel file. The notice also states that minors are not allowed to work in places where alcohol is served or have to take orders to serve alcoholic beverages.


TN All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Tennessee and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT
WAGE REGULATIONS ACT
It is unlawful for any employer to employ, permit or suffer to work any person without first informing the employee of the amount of wages to be
paid (T.C.A. §50-2-101). All wages or compensation of employees in private employment shall be due and payable not less frequently than once
per month. Notice of regular paydays shall be posted by each employer in at least two conspicuous places.

REGULAR PAYDAY IS POSTED AS FOLLOWS:

(T.C.A. §50-2-103).

Each employee must have a 30-minute unpaid rest break or meal period if scheduled to work 6 hours consecutively, except adult
employees in workplace environments that by the nature of business provide for ample opportunity to rest or take an appropriate break.
Such break shall not be scheduled during or before the first hour of scheduled work activity (T.C.A. §50-2-103).
No employer shall discriminate between employees in the same establishment on the basis of sex by paying any employee salary or wage
rates less than the employer pays to any employee of opposite sex for comparable skill, effort, and responsibility, and which are performed
under similar working conditions (T.C.A. §50-2-202).

CHILD LABOR ACT
Minors 14 and 15 years of age may not be employed
(T.C.A. §50-5-104):
1. During school hours;
2. Between 7:00 pm and 7:00 am if the next day is a school day;
3. Between 9:00 pm and 6:00 am if the next day is not a school day;
4. More than 3 hours a day on school days;
5. More than 18 hours a week during school weeks;
6. More than 8 hours a day on non-school days;
7. More than 40 hours a week during non-school weeks.
• “School hours” means that period of time during a school day when
school is in session and students are required to attend class.

Minors 16 and 17 years of age may not be employed
(T.C.A. §50-5-105):
1. During those hours when the minor is required to attend classes;
2. Between the hours of 10:00 pm and 6:00 am, Sunday through
Thursday evenings preceding a school day, except with valid
parental consent form kept in the minor’s personnel file. Then, the
minor may work until midnight no more than 3 of the Sunday
through Thursday nights.
• “School days” means any day when normal classes are in session
during regular school year in the school district.

BREAK OR MEAL PERIOD (T.C.A. §50-5-115)
A minor must have a 30-minute unpaid break or meal period if scheduled to work 6 hours consecutively. Such break shall not be scheduled
during or before the first hour of scheduled work activity.

OCCUPATIONS PROHIBITED FOR MINORS UNDER THE AGE OF 18 (T.C.A. §50-5-106)
(a) A minor may not be employed in connection with the following:
1. Occupations in or about plants or establishments manufacturing or
storing explosives or articles containing explosive components;
2. Motor vehicle driving occupations;
3. Coal mine occupations;
4. Logging occupations and occupations in the operation of any
sawmill, lath mill, shingle mill or cooperage-stock mill;
5. Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven
woodworking machines;
6. Occupations involving exposure to radioactive substances and to
ionizing radiations;
7. Occupations involved in the operation of elevator and other powerdriven hoisting apparatus;
8. Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven metalforming, punching and shearing machines;
9. Occupations in connection with mining elements other than coal;
10. Occupations involving slaughtering, meat-packing, processing or
rendering;
11. Occupations involved in the operation of hazardous power-driven
bakery machines;
12. Occupations involved in the operation of hazardous power-driven
paper products machines;
13. Occupations involved in the manufacture of brick, tile and kindred
products;
14. Occupations involved in the operation of circular saws, band saws
and guillotine shears;

15. Occupations involved in wrecking, demolition and ship-breaking
operations;
16. Occupations involved in roofing operations;
17. Occupations in excavation operations;
18. Occupations that the commissioner shall by regulation, pursuant to
this part, declare to be hazardous or injurious to the life, health,
safety and welfare of minors;
19. Occupations involving posing or modeling, alone or with others,
while engaged in sexual conduct for the purpose of preparing a
film, photograph, negative, slide or motion picture;
20. Occupations involved in youth peddling.
(b)
1. If a minor is fifteen (15) years of age or younger, the minor must
not be employed in a place of employment where the average
monthly gross receipts from the sale of intoxicating beverages
exceed twenty-five percent (25%) of the total gross receipts of the
place of employment or where a minor will be permitted to take
orders for or serve intoxicating beverages, regardless of the
amount of intoxicating beverages sold in the place of employment.
2. If a minor is sixteen (16) or seventeen (17) years of age, the minor
may be employed in a place of employment where the average
monthly gross receipts from the sale of intoxicating beverages
exceed twenty-five percent (25%) of the total gross receipts of the
place of employment if the minor is not permitted to take orders
for or serve intoxicating beverages.

DUTIES OF EMPLOYERS (T.C.A. §50-5-111)
Employers of minors shall:
1. Maintain a separate file record for each minor employed which shall be kept at the minor’s place of employment and shall include the
following:
a. Employment application;
b. Copy of minor’s birth certificate, driver’s license, state issued ID, or passport;
c. Accurate daily time record for all minors;
d. Any records qualifying a minor for exemption under T.C.A. §50-5-107 (8)-(13).
2. Allow the department to inspect all premises where minores are or could be employed and the contents of the individual file records;
3. Post in a conspicuous place on the business premises a printed notice of the provisions of the Child Labor Act furnished by the
department; and
4. Furnish the department with records relative to the employment of minors;
• If a minor is 16 or 17 years of age and is home schooled, the file must include documentation from the Director of the LEA, the home
school, or church-related school that confirms the minor’s enrollment and authorization to work (T.C.A. §50-5-105).
For information on state laws, contact the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development – Labor Standards Unit
Toll Free (844) 224-5818 (REGULATIONS) www.tn.gov/workforce
The TN Department of Labor and Workforce Development is committed to principals of equal opportunity, equal access, and affirmative action. Auxiliary
aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Callers with hearing impairments may use TTY/TDD 711.
Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development; Authorization #337477; 1,000 copies; May 2024.
This public document was promulgated at a cost of $0.44 per copy.



Other Tennessee Labor Law Posters 4 PDFS

There are an additional seven optional and mandatory Tennessee labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.


View all 8 Tennessee labor law posters


Get a 2024 Tennessee all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Tennessee and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Tennessee and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for 2024!

Get 2024 All-In-One Poster Now


Poster Sources:

Disclaimer:

While we do our best to keep our list of Tennessee labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.

** This Document Provided By LaborPosters.org **
Source: http://www.laborposters.org/tennessee/331-wage-regulation-and-child-labor-in-tennessee-poster.htm