New Mexico Minimum Wage Summary Poster Required
The New Mexico Minimum Wage Summary is a labor law posters poster by the New Mexico Department Of Workforce Solutions. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in New Mexico, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.
Updated 1/2023. This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all employees will see it. This poster describes the minimum wage that employers must pay tipped and untipped employees as well as how to deal with overtime pay. This poster also lists where to go in case an individual has their rights violated under this law as well as the penalties on employers who violate this law.
NM All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both New Mexico and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
N EW M EXICO M INIMUM W AGE A CT EMPLOYEE RIGHTS MINIMUM WAGE IN NEW MEXICO $ 12 per hour as of January 1, 2023 OVERTIME PAY At least 1½ times your regular hourly rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek. TIPPED WORKERS Employers must pay tipped employees an hourly rate of at least $ 3 per hour. If the tips plus the hourly rate do not equal at least $ 12 per hour, the employer must make up the difference. Tipped employees have a right to keep all of their tips. Tip pooling may only be among wait staff. NO SEPARATE RATE These minimum wage rates apply to all employees FOR STUDENTS OR regardless of their age or student status. MINORS DAMAGES Employers who violate the minimum wage or overtime requirements are required to pay impacted employees the full amount of their underpaid wages plus interest, plus an additional amount equal to twice the underpaid wages. RETALIATION It is unlawful to retaliate against an employee for PROHIBITED asserting a wage claim or for informing o ther employees of their rights. ENFORCEMENT The Labor Relations Division of the Department of Workforce Solutions investigates claims and recovers back wages for employees who have been underpaid in violation of law, regardless of the dollar value of the claim, going back at least three years, or longer if there was a continuing course of conduct. Violations may result in civil or criminal action. LOCAL MINIMUM The City of Santa Fe and Santa Fe County have higher base WAGE RATES minimum wage rates . Albuquerque and Las Cruces have higher tipped minimum wage rates. ADDITIONAL Certain jobs or employers are exempt from the minimum wage or INFORMATION overtime provisions. Employers must display this poster where employees can easily see it. For more information or to file a wage claim, contact the Labor Relations Division at 505 -841 -4400, or online at www.dws.state.nm.us
Other New Mexico Labor Law Posters 4 PDFS
There are an additional fifteen optional and mandatory New Mexico labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
- Original poster PDF https://www.dws.state.nm.us/Portals/0/DM/LaborRelations/MWA_Summary_ENGL_2023.pdf , updated December 2022
- New Mexico Labor Law Posters at http://www.nmcourts.gov/newface/hr/labor_law_posters.html
- New Mexico Department Of Workforce Solutions
While we do our best to keep our list of New Mexico labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.