Maine Child Labor Poster
The Child Labor Poster is a labor law posters poster by the Maine Department Of Labor. This poster is mandatory for some employers, including employers of minors.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all employees who are minors will see it. It describes the restrictions minors have on hours they can work for both the week and each day as well as restrictions regarding if they are currently attending school. The notice also describes the qualifications minors must have to be able to work and how to get more information on Child Labor Law.
ME All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Maine and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
14 and 15 year olds may work in most businesses, except in occupations declared hazardous and jeopardize their health, well-being or educational opportunities. 16 and 17 year olds may work in most businesses, however not in hazardous jobs. These provisions also provide limited exemptions. Contact the Bureau of Labor Standards for details. Work Permits • All minors under 16 years of age need work permits in order to work. • Superintendent of schools certify academic standing. • Minor allowed only one permit during the school year but two during summer vacation. • Minor cannot work until permit is approved by Bureau of Labor Standards. • Employer keeps Bureau-approved permit on file. Recordkeeping All employers must keep accurate payroll records for workers under 18. Records must show what time the minor began work, total hours worked, and what time the minor finished work each day. Note: Maine employers may also be covered under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act. For more information, contact the U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Office at 603-666-7716 or http://youth.dol.gov/. Work Hours 14 and 15 year olds • No more than six days in a row. • Cannot work before 7 a.m. • Not after 7 p.m. during school year. • Cannot work after 9 p.m. during summer vacation. When School Is Not in Session • No more than 8 hours in any one day (weekend, holiday, vacation or workshop). • Not more than 40 hours in a week (school must be out entire week). When School Is in Session • No more than 3 hours on a school day, including Friday. • Not more than 18 hours in a week that school is in session one or more days. Work Hours 16 and 17 year olds (enrolled in school) • No more than 6 days in a row. • Cannot work before 7 a.m. on a school day. • Cannot work before 5 a.m. on a non-school day. • Cannot work after 10:15 p.m. the night before a school day. • Can work up to midnight when there is no school the next day. When School Is Not in Session • No more than 10 hours in any one day (weekend, holiday, vacation, or workshop). • No more than 50 hours in a week. When School Is in Session • No more than 6 hours on a school day. • No more than 10 hours on any holiday, vacation, or workshop day. • On last day of school week, may work up to 8 hours. • No more than 24 hours in a week, except may work 50 hours any week that approved school calendar is less than three days or during the first and last week of school calendar. For more information, contact: Maine Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Standards 45 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0045 Tel: 207-623-7900 or 207-623-7930 TTY users call Maine Relay 711 Website: www.maine.gov/labor/bls Email: [email protected] rev. 11/19 Child Labor Laws Child Labor Laws of the State of Maine provide protection for people under the age of 18 in both agricultural and nonagricultural jobs. The Maine Department of Labor administers the laws, which all employers must follow. Department representatives inspect workplaces to ensure compliance. Citations and penalties may be issued to employers who do not comply. This poster describes some important parts of the laws. A copy of the actual laws and formal interpretations may be obtained from the Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Standards, by calling (207) 623-7900. (The laws are also on the Bureau website. ) Maine Law (Title 26, M.R.S.A. § 42-B) requires every employer to place this poster in the workplace where workers can easily see it. Bureau of La bor St andards This poster is available online at no charge and may be copied: https://www.maine.gov/labor/posters/ The Maine Department of Labor provides equal opportunity in employment and programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available to people with disabilities upon request.
Other Maine Labor Law Posters 4 PDFS
There are an additional thirteen optional and mandatory Maine labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
- Original poster PDF https://www.maine.gov/labor/docs/2019/laborlaws/childlabornov2019.pdf , updated December 2021
- Maine Labor Law Posters at http://www.maine.gov/labor/posters/
- Maine Department Of Labor
While we do our best to keep our list of Maine labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.