Hawaii Wage and Hour Law Poster Required
The Wage and Hour Law is a general labor law poster poster by the Hawaii Department Of Labor and Industrial Relations. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in Hawaii, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all employees will see it. As of 2019, this poster describes the minimum wage, how overtime is dealt with and the right employees have to be notified their rate of pay and paydays. The law poster also details that employees cannot have their wages withheld by their employers, have the right to collect unpaid wages, and the right for family leave if a child is born or adopted by an employee. Other rights include the right to be paid the prevailing wages on government construction projects, the right to refuse a lie detector test, the right to file a complaint if suspended, discharged, or discriminated against solely because of a work injury for an employee getting Workers' Compensation under the Wage Standards Division.
HI All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Hawaii and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
Updated 12/15/2017 Minimum Wage - You have the right to receive a minimum wage of at least $9.25 per hour through December 31, 2017, and at least $10.10 per hour beginning January 1, 2018. Under certain conditions , “tipped employees” may be paid less per hour. Overtime - You have the right to be paid overtime at least one and one- half times your regular rate for all hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek. The law also requires employers to maintain payroll records for at least 6 years. • The Hawaii Wage and Hour Law exempts certain types of employment from minimum wage and overtime, such as outside salespersons and employees in an executive, administrative, supervisory, or professional capacity. Payment of Wages - You have the right to be paid at le ast twice monthly on regular paydays designated in advance in cash, by checks convertible into cash, or within certain requirements, by direct deposit into the employee's account at a federally insured depository institution or pay card; within 7 days after the end of each pay period; paid wages in full at the time of discharge or no later than the next working day; or paid no later than the next regular payday if you quit or resign. However, if you give your employer one pay period’s notice of your intent ion to quit, you must be paid on your last day of employment. Notification Requirements - You have the right to be notified in writing at the time of hire of your rate of pay and the paydays. Any changes in pay arrangements prior to the time of such changes, and of any policies with regard to vacation, sick, or holiday pay must be made in writing or through a posted notice. You must also be furnished with a pay statement on payday showing gross wages, amount and purpose of each deduction, net pay, date of payment , and pay period covered. If your employer requires that you give advance notice of quitting and you are terminated after giving that notice, your employer is liable for the wages you would have earned up to the last day you intended to work unless you were terminated for cause. Withholding of Wages - You have the right to ensure that there are no wrongful withholdings of your wages. Your employer may not collect, deduct or obtain authorization to deduct for: • Fines (For example - an amount you must pay to your employer for being tardy.) • Cash shortages in a common cash register or cash box used by two or more people, or in a cash regi ster or cash box under your sole control unless given an opportunity to account for all moneys received at the start of a shift and all m onies turned in at the end of a shift. • Penalties or replacement costs for breakage. • Losses due to your acceptance of checks which are later dishonored if the employer has authorized you to accept checks. • Losses due to faulty workmanship, lost or stolen property, damage to property, or default of customer credit or nonpayment for goods or services received by customers, as long as those losses are not due to your willful or intentional disregard of the employer’s interest. Your employer or prospective employer cannot require you to pay a job application processing fee. Your employer may deduct state and federal withholding taxes, amounts specified by court orders and amounts you authorized in writing. Collection of Unpaid Wages - You have the right to file a complaint for unpaid wages with the W age Standards Division within one year from the time the wages became due. Certain executives, administrators, professionals and outside salespersons may need to file a claim in a court of competent jurisdiction. Hawaii Family Leave Law - You have the right to receive up to 4 weeks of unpaid, job- protected leave for the birth or adoption of your child, or to care for your child, parent, sibling, spouse or reciprocal beneficiary with a serious health condition. You are eligible only if you have at least 6 consecutive months of service, and your employer has 100 or more employees. Accrued paid leaves may be substituted for any part of the 4- week period. If your employer provides for paid sick leave, you may use up to 10 days of your accrued and available sick leave per year unless a collective bargaining agreement provides for more than 10 days. Prevailing Wages and Overtime on State and County Government Construction Projects - You have the right to be paid the prevailing wages on government construction projects. Updated 12/15/2017 Lie Detector Tests - You have the right to refuse a lie detector test. Work Injury - You have the right to file a complaint if you feel that you have been suspended, discharged, or discriminated against solely because of a work injury that is compensable under the Workers’ Compensation Laws, e xcept under certain circumstances . Wage Standards Division: This notice provides general background information on Hawaii Wage and Hour laws and is not intended to serve as a substitute for legal counsel. For specific legal advice on individual situations, please consult an attorney. Leonard Hoshijo , Acting Director Department of Labor and Industrial Relations * You may satisfy Hawaii Labor Laws’ posting requirements by posting our official labor law poste r. For more information: http://labor.hawaii.gov/labor -law -poster Equal Opportunity Employer/Program Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. TDD/TTY Dial 711 then ask for (808) 586-88 66 Oahu: 586 -8777 Hilo: 974 -6464 Maui: 243 -5322 Kona: 322 -4808 Kauai: 274 -3351
Other Hawaii Labor Law Posters 5 PDFS
There are an additional five optional and mandatory Hawaii labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Mandatory Disability Compensation Law||Workers Compensation Law|
|Mandatory Unemployment Insurance Law||Unemployment Law|
|Mandatory Required Notice to Dislocated Workers/Plant Closings||Miscellaneous Law|
|Mandatory Occupational Safety & Health Laws||Job Safety Law|
|Mandatory Human Trafficking Poster||Human Trafficking Law|
While we do our best to keep our list of Hawaii labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.