Arkansas Notice to Employer and Employee Poster
The Notice to Employer and Employee is a labor law posters poster by the Arkansas Department Of Labor. This poster is mandatory for some employers, including employers with 4+ employees.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all employees will see it in a company with 4 or more people in it. This poster talks about the Minimum Wage requirements of the state, who the Minimum Wage Law applies to, as well as rates for students and workweek maximums for students. This poster also lists requirements on how to deal with handicapped workers, student-learners, overtime, Child Labor Laws and everything else having to deal with wages. Penalties for employers breaking any of these requirements are also listed on this poster.
AR All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Arkansas and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING NOTICE to employer & employe e M INIMUM WAGE All employees covered by Arkansas Code 11 - 4 - 202 to 11 - 4 - 220 must be paid a minimum wage of at least: $ 9.25 an hour effective January 1, 201 9 with an allowance for gratuities no t to exceed $ 6.62 per hour. $ 10 .00 an hour effective January 1, 20 20 with an allowance for gratuities not to exceed $ 7 .37 per hour. $ 11 . 00 an hour effective January 1, 20 21 with an allowance for gratuities not to exceed $ 8 . 3 7 per hour. CO VERAGE The Arkan sas Minimum Wage applies to an employer of four (4) or more persons . Common exemptions include: *Executive, administrative or professional employees. *Outside commission - paid salesmen. *Students whose work is a part of a bona fide vocation al training program. *Students who work in the schools they are attending. * Some farm laborers. *Independent contractors. *Employees of the United States . STUDENT RATE Any full - time student attending any accredited institution of education wi thin the Stat e of Arkansas, and who is employed to work an amount not to exceed twenty (20) hours during weeks that school is in session or forty (40) hours during weeks when school is not in session, such rate of wage shall be equal to not less than eight y - five (85%) of the applicable minimum wage provided a Student Certificate of Eligibility is obtained from the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing . Student workers subject to the 85% provision of the applicable minimum wage rate and a gratuity allowance shall n o t be paid less than the base wage guaranteed any other employee subject to a gratuity allowance. HANDICAPPED WORKERS The Director has established rules for employment of these workers. For further information contact t he Department of Labor and Licensin g . STUDEN T - LEARNERS A "Student - Learner" is a person who is receiving regular instructions in an accredited school and who is employed on a part - time basis in a bona fide training program. For further information contact the Department of Labor and Licens ing . OVERTIME PAY O vert ime compensation must be paid at the rate of one and one - half times the regular hourly rate of pay for hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek . This overtime provision shall not be applic able with respect to employers with less than 4 employees, or agricultural employees. WORKWEEK A workweek is a regularly recurring period of 168 hours in the form of seven consecutive 24 - hour periods. ENFORCEMENT The Di rector of the Division of Labor or his representatives have t he authority to: (a) enter and inspect any place of employment in the State to examine books, payrolls, and records having to do with wages and hours. He may copy these records if necessary and may question any employees to find out if the law is bei ng obeyed ; (b) r equire written or sworn statements from an employer about his employees' earnings and hours of work ; and (c) enforce all ad ministrative rules . DEDUCTIONS FROM THE MINIMUM WAGE No deductio n from the applicable minimum wage may be made exc ept those a uthorized or required by law or by r ule of the Director of Labor , however, deductions which are not otherwise prohibited and which are for the employee's benefit may be made if authorized in wri ting by the employee. KEEPING OF RECORDS All emplo yers subject to the Minimum Wage Law must keep accurate records for a period of three ( 3 ) years. These records must include the name, address, occupation, rate of pay, hours worked and the amount paid eac h pay period for all employees covered by the law. In addition, every employer who claims an allowance for tips, board, lodging, apparel or other items or services as part of the applicable minimum wage rate, must maintain daily records showing for each e mployee the amounts claimed as allowances and must main tain records which will substantiate the amount of tips actually received by the employee or the employer's reasonable cost in supplying items or services to the employee. EQUAL PAY ACT No employer in the State of Arkansas shall discriminate in the pa ymen t of wages as between the sexes or shall pay any female in his employ, salary or wage rate less than the rates paid to male employees for comparable work. Provided, however, that nothing in this Act s hall prohibit a variation in rates of pay based upo n a difference in seniority, experience, training, skill, ability, or difference in duties and services performed, or difference in the shift or time of the day worked, or any other reasonable differentiat ion except difference in sex. Every employer shall kee p and maintain records of the salaries and wage rates, job classifications and other terms and conditions of employment of the persons employed by him and such records shall be preserved for a period o f three (3) years. PENALTIES Any employer who will full y hinders or delays the Directo r or his authorized representative in the performance of his duties in the enforcement of the Minimum Wage Law or of any rule issued under it shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than fift y dollars ($50.00) and not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) for each violation. For the purpos e of this subsection, each such violation shall constitu te a separate offense. Any employer who willfully discharges or in any other manner willfully discriminates against any employee because such employee has made any complaint to his employer, to the Director of Labor, or his authorized representative that he has not been paid minimum wages in accordance with the law , or because such employee has caused to be instituted o r is about to cause to be instituted any proceeding under or related to the law , or because such employee h as testified or is about to testify in any such proceeding shall be deemed in violation of the Minimum Wage Law and shall be subject to a civil penal ty of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) and not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) for each viol ation. For the purpose of this section, each day the violation continues shall constitute a separate offense. In addition to the civil p enalty, the Director of Labor is authorized to pe tition any court of competent jurisdiction to enjoin or re strain any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association who violates the provision of the law or any rule . EMPLOYEES REMEDIES The Director of Labor may enforce Arkansas minimum wa ge law by instituting legal action to recover any wag es due. An employee may bring an action for equitable and monetary relief against an employer if the employer pays the employee less than the minimum wages, incl uding overtime wages , to which the employee is entitled. The employee shall not be required to exhaust administrative remedies before bringing an action. An employee may recover the full amount of wages due plus costs and a reasonable attorney’s fee . T he employee may also b e awarded an additional amount up to but not greater than the amount of wages found to be due, to be paid as liquidated damages for willful violations . CHILD LABOR State law regulates the employment of minors under the age of 1 7 and, g enerally, requires children under the age o f 16 to have employment certificates. Employment certificates for children ages 14 and 15 are not required for seasonal agricultural laborers, newspaper carriers, or batboys of professional baseball clu bs , or spo rts referees . Special provisions govern the employment of children in the entertainment industry, otherwise, children who are 14 and 15 years of age may not work: *More than 8 hours a day. *More than 6 days a week. *More than 48 hours a week. *Be fore 6:00 a.m. nor after 7:00 p.m. except on nights preceding non - school days, such children may work until 9:00 p.m. Children under 14 may not be employed except in the entertainment industry, as newspaper carriers, bat boys or bat girls of profession al basebal l clubs, sports referees, to hand harvest s hort season crops, or by their parents or guardians during school vacation. Children who are 16 years of age may not work: *More than 10 consecutive hours in any one day; no more than ten 10 hours in a t wenty - four hour period. *More than 6 days a week. *Mo re than 54 hours a week. *Before 6:00 a.m. nor after 11:00 p.m. except that the limitation s of 6:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m. shall not apply to children 16 years of age employed on nights preceding non - school days in o ccupations determined by rule of the Arkans as Department of Labor and Licensing to be sufficiently safe for their employment . Provided, however, that no boy or girl between the ages of 16 and 18 shall be subject to the provisions of this Act if: (a) such boy or girl is a graduate of any high school, vocational school or technical school; (b) such boy or girl is married or is a parent. Act 647 of 1987 allows for the employment of children in the entertainment industry provided the child is issued an Enterta inment Work Permit by the Director of Labor. Child labor violations result in a civil money penalty of not less than $50.00 and not more than $1,000.00 for each violation. IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS CONCERNING THE ARKANSAS MINIMUM WAGE LAW, TELEPHON E 682 - 45 34 . WAGE COLLECTION ACT The Wage Collection Act provides a ssistance to any employee in the collection of wages due him or her for work performed. Work performed shall include all or any work or service performed by any person employed for any per iod of tim e where the wages or salary or remunerations for such wor k or services are to be paid at stated intervals or at the termination of such employment, or for physical work actually performed by an independent contractor, provided that the amount in controvers y does not exceed the sum of two thousand dollars ($ 2 ,000 .00). Employees who need help in collecting wages due them should contact the Arkansas Labor Department and Licensing . Telephone 682 - 45 99 . THIS POSTER CONTAINS ONLY A SUMMARY Copies of t he complet e laws and ad ministrative rules are available from the Department of Labor and Licensing . ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING DIVISION OF LABOR 900 WEST CAPITOL LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72201 PHONE (50 1) 682-4500 FAX (501) 682-4506 TDD (80 0) 285-1131 EMP LOYERS SUBJECT TO THE MINIMUM WAGE ACT ARE REQUIRED TO POST THIS NOTICE IN A CONSPICUOUS PLACE FOR ALL EMPLOY EES . 8 / 201 9
Other Arkansas Labor Law Posters 4 PDFS
There are an additional five optional and mandatory Arkansas labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
- Original poster PDF https://www.labor.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/POSTER-FINAL-2019.pdf , updated August 2021
- Arkansas Labor Law Posters at http://www.labor.arkansas.gov/required-postings-for-arkansas-employers
- Arkansas Department Of Labor
While we do our best to keep our list of Arkansas labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.