Alabama Child Labor Law Poster
The Alabama Child Labor Law is a child labor law poster by the Alabama Department Of Labor. This poster is mandatory for some employers, including employers of minors.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where any person under the age of 18 is employed in Alabama. It specifies rules on the number of hours and work times that can be assigned to minors of different ages and specifies certain exemptions to various child-labor regulations. The poster specifies restrictions for teens at age ranges between 14-15 and 16-18. It lists the requirements of what type of certificates are required from minors, how many hours they are permitted to work depending on school and certain days of the week. It also shows when breaks are allowed and policies when alcohol may be served in an establishment. Inspections from the Department of Labor are permitted without a warrant needed for routine inspections.
AL All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Alabama and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
Published 2018 Occupations Alcoholic Beverages Employees must be: 21 to serve alcoholic beverages for consumption on premises (19 if licensee is RVP certified). 16 and older may be employed in such establishments as busboys, janitors, dishwashers, cooks, hostesses, or seaters. Inspections by the Department of Labor Each employer shall obtain and display the proper Child Labor Certificate(s) for each location where minors under the age of 18 are employed. To apply for a certificate(s) go to www.labor.alabama.gov Persons under 14 years of ag e SHALL NOT BE EMPLOYED Class II Certificate Class I Certificate Employment Certificate Minors Age 14/15 Minors Age 16/17/18 (Renewed Annually) To employ minors age 14/15 To employ minors age 16/17 Work Time Restrictions (Minors Under age 19) During the Months when Public Schools are in Session No more than 3 hours on any school day During Months when Public No more than 8 hours per day No more than 6 days per week No more than 40 hours per week Not before 7am or after 9pm each day This notice is to be posted in a conspicuous place. This notice is for reference only. For full text,consult §25-8-32 to 63. Any difference in state or federal law regarding child labor, the law providing the most protection to the minor takes precedence. No more than 6 days per week No more than 18 hours per week Minors 16-17-18 years old who are enrolled in public or private school, may NOT work after 10pm or before 5am on an night preceding a school day. Schools are NOT in Session Schools are in Session During Months when Public Schools are NOT in Session The Department of Labor has the right to enter, without warrant or notice, any business establishment for the purpose of routine inspections. These visits shall be conducted as frequently as needed to ensure that minors are employed in compliance with this act. The department shall enforce this act and may administer fines and/or prosecution for any violation of this act. *Children of parents who own their own business are NOT exempt from Alabama Child Labor Law Record Keeping Each employer must keep on premises an Employee Information Form (available at www.labor.alabama.gov), Proof of Age , and Time Records showing the number of hours worked each day, starting and ending times, and break times for each employee 18 years of age and younger. See AL §25-8-43 for a detailed list of prohibited occupations. Not before 7am or after 7pm on Any Day of the Week No more than 8 hours on a non-school day ALABAMA CHILD LABOR LAWS Minors 16 and older do not have an hour restriction during this time. 14 and 15 year old minors SHALL NOT work in any establishment that serves alcohol for consumption on premises. (Note: Members of the immediate family of the owner or operator who are 14 or 15 years of age may be employed in such establishments provided they do not serve, sell, dispense, or handle alcohol.) No breaks are required for employees 16 and older. Breaks Not during school hours (8am-3pm) A documented 30 minute break is required for any 14 or 15 year old who is employed for more than 5 hours continuously. See AL § 25-8-33 to 35 for a detailed list of prohibited occupations During the Months when Public FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: The Alabama Department of Labor Child Labor Enforcement 649 Monroe Street Montgomery , AL 36131 (334)956-7390 www.labor.alabama.gov c [email protected]
Other Alabama Labor Law Posters 5 PDFS
There are an additional eight optional and mandatory Alabama labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Mandatory Workers' Compensation Notice||Workers Compensation Law|
|Mandatory UC Partials Poster||Unemployment Law|
|Mandatory Your Job Insurance||Unemployment Law|
|Mandatory Your Rights Under USERRA||Miscellaneous Law|
|Mandatory Alabama Workplace Violence Prevention Poster||Workplace Violence Law|
While we do our best to keep our list of Alabama labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.