West Virginia WV Minimum Wage and Maximum Hours Law Poster
The WV Minimum Wage and Maximum Hours Law is a minimum wage law poster by the West Virginia Division of Labor . This poster is mandatory for some employers, including employers with 6 or more employees.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place by all employers that have at least 6 employees so that all employees can see it. This poster describes what the minimum wage is for both tipped and untipped employees and when employers must pay a Minimum Wage Credit to tipped employees.
WV All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both West Virginia and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
W EST V IRGINIA D IVISION OF L ABOR 1900 Kanawha Boulevard East - State Capitol Complex – Building 3, Room 200 - Charleston, WV 25305 Telephone: (304)558 -7890 labor. wv.gov Fax: (304)558- 3797 MINIMUM WAGE REQUIREMENTS An employer employing 6 or more employees in any one separate, distinct and permanent location during any calendar week, including the State of West Virginia, and its agencies and departments, must comply with the state minimum wage law , §21-5C . Required Minimum Wage Rate • Beginning January 1, 2016 , employers must pay employees at least $8.75 per hour. Required Minimum Training Wage Rate • An employer may pay an employee under the age of 20 years, first hired on or after January 1, 2015, a training wage of at least $6.40 per hour for the first 90 days of employment. • Beginning with the 91 st day of employment, an employer must pay the employ ee the required minimum wage rate. Permissible Minimum Wage Credit for Tipped Employees • Beginning January 1, 2016 , employers may take up to a 70% credit, or $6.13 per hour, against the required minimum wage rate for employees who customarily receive tips , resulting in a reduced hourly wage rate of at least $2.62 per hour. • To qualify for the credit, employers must ensure that the employees’ tips and the reduced hourly wage rate equal at least the required minimum wage rate and must keep accurate records of employees’ tips. Revised January 2018
Other West Virginia Labor Law Posters 4 PDFS
There are an additional one optional and mandatory West Virginia labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Mandatory The WV Wage Payment and Collection Act||General Labor Law Poster|
|Mandatory WV Minimum Wage and Maximum Hours Law||Minimum Wage Law|
|Mandatory WV Nurses Overtime and Patient Safety Act||General Labor Law Poster|
|Mandatory WV Parental Leave Act||General Labor Law Poster|
While we do our best to keep our list of West Virginia labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.