Oregon State Minimum Wage Poster Poster Required
The State Minimum Wage Poster is a minimum wage law poster by the Oregon Bureau Of Labor and Industry. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in Oregon, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where employees other then those of agricultural employers will see it. This poster describes what the Minimum wage is, information on general working conditions and the restrictions that minor employees must follow.
OR All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Oregon and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
B U R E A U O F L A B O R A N D I N D U S T R I E S O R E G O N Val Hoyle, Commissioner MINIMUM WAGE RATES Effective July 1, 201 9 to June 30, 20 20 An employer shall pay an employee no less than the minimum wage rate for the region in which the employer is located. (See region descriptions below.) Standard : $11.25 per hour Portland Metro : $12.50 per hour Nonurban Counties : $11.00 per hour All employers must comply with state laws regulating payment of minimum wage, overtime and general working conditions. Regions The “Standard ’ rate applies to the following counties, with the exception of those areas located within the urban growth boundary of a metropolitan service district: Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Deschutes, Hood River, Jackson, Josephine, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Ma rion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Wasco, Washington, and Yamhill. The rate for “ Portland Metro ” includes areas located within the urban growth boundary of a metropolitan service district. The rate for “ Nonurban Counties ” applies to the following counties: Baker, Coos, Crook, Curry, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatill a, Union, Wallowa, and Wheeler. Employer Location Employers are required to pay their employees at least the minimum wage rate in effect for the region where the employer is located. Employees who perform more than 50% of their work in a pay period at the employer’s permanent fixed business location in Oregon must be paid at least the minimum wage rate for the region in which the employer’ s business is located. Employees who make deliveries as a part of their job and who start and end their workday at the employer’s permanent fixed business location must be paid at least the minimum wage rate for the region in which the employer’s business is located. Employees who do not perform more than 50% of their work in a pay period at the employer’s permanent fixed business location in Oregon must be paid at least the minimum wage rate for the region in which the employee performs work. General Wo rking Conditions Overtime: Unless exempt, employees must be paid time and one -half the regular rate of pay for any time worked over 40 hours a week or, for domestic workers residing in the home of the employer, over 44 hours a week. Tips: Employers may no t use tips as credit toward minimum wages owed to an employee. Deductions: Employers may make deductions from wages that are required by law; authorized by a collective bargaining agreement; are for the fair market value of meals and lodging provide d for t he private benefit of the employee; are for the employee’s benefit and are authorized in writing; or for an item in which the employer is not the ultimate recipient and the employee has voluntarily signed an authorization. An itemized statement of deductio ns made from wages must be provided with each paycheck. Time records must be kept by employers for at least two years. Payroll records must be kept by employers for at least three years. Regular paydays must be established and maintained. A pay period may not exceed 35 days. Meal periods of not less than 30 minutes must be provided to non -exempt employees who work six or more hours in one work period. Ordinarily, employees are required to be relieved of all duties during the meal period. Under exception al circumstances, however, the law allows an employee to perform duties during a meal period so long as they are paid. When that happens, the employer must pay the employee for the entire meal period. Paid rest periods of at least 10 minutes for adults (15 minutes for minors) must be provided during each four -hour work period or major part of four hours worked. (There are narrow exceptions for adult employees working alone in retail/service establishments.) Certain employers are required to provide addit ional rest periods to employees to express milk for a child. With the exception of certain tipped food and beverage service workers, meal and rest periods may not be waived or used to adjust working hours; however, meal and rest period provisions may be mo dified by the terms of a collective bargaining agreement. Final paychecks: When an employee is discharged by an employer or the employee and employer mutually agree to the termination , the final paycheck is due no later than the end of the first business day after the discharge. If an employee quits with 48 hours or more notice, wages are due on the last working day (excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays). If an employee quits without at least 48 hours notice, wages are due in five days (excluding Sat urdays, Sundays and holidays) or on the next payday, whichever occurs first. (There are some exceptions. Contact the nearest Bureau of Labor and Industries office for information.) Domestic Service Employment: Special rules apply to persons employed as do mestic workers. Contact the Bureau of Labor and Industries for more information. Employees may be eligible for the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC or EIC), a benefit for working people with low to moderate income, particularly those with chi ldren. EITC reduces the amount of tax owe d and may provide a refund. Visit these websites for additional information about how to qualify : Federal: https://www.irs.gov/credits -deductions/individuals/earned -income -tax -credit Oregon: https://www.oregon.gov/DOR/programs/individuals/Pages/credits.aspx For Additional Information Contact the Bureau of Labor and Industries: Online: www.oregon.gov/boli • Email: [email protected] Eugene 541 -686 -7623 Technical Assistance for Employers Program: 971 -673 -0824 Portland 971 -673 -0761 TTY: 711 Salem 503 -378 -3292 This is a summary of Oregon’s laws relating to minimum wage and working conditions. It is not a complete text of the law. THIS INFORMATION MUST BE POSTED IN A CONSPICUOUS LOCATION PENALTIES: Willful failure to pay wages due to an employee upon termination may be penalized by continuation of the employee’s wages up to a maximum of 30 days.
Other Oregon Labor Law Posters 5 PDFS
There are an additional ten optional and mandatory Oregon labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Mandatory Oregon Sick Time Poster||Sick Leave Law|
|Mandatory State Minimum Wage Poster (Spanish)||Minimum Wage Law|
|Mandatory State Minimum Wage Poster||Minimum Wage Law|
|Mandatory Cartel de Seguridad e Higiene de Oregon OSHA (Spanish)||Job Safety Law|
|Mandatory Safety & Health Poster||Job Safety Law|
While we do our best to keep our list of Oregon labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.