New Jersey Free Printable Job Safety Law Posters New Jersey SAFE Act Poster Required

The New Jersey SAFE Act is a job safety law poster by the New Jersey Department Of Labor and Workforce Development. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in New Jersey, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.

This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all employees will see it. This poster describes the SAFE Act, which means certain employees can get unpaid leave for up to 20 days in a 12-month period to address circumstances resulting from domestic violence or a sexually violent offense.


NJ All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both New Jersey and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .

It appears you don't have a PDF plugin for this browser. Please see the link below to download new-jersey-ad-289-9-13.pdf.

The New Jersey Security and Financial Empowerment Act (“NJ SAFE Act”), P.L. 2013, c.82, provides that 
certain employees are eligible to receive an unpaid leave of absence, fo\
r a period not to exceed 20 days in 
a 12-month period, to address circumstances resulting from domestic viol\
ence or a sexually violent offense. 
To be eligible, the employee must have worked at least 1,000 hours during\
 the immediately preceding 
12-month period. Further, the employee must have worked for an employer in the State that employ\
s 25 or 
more employees for each working day during each of 20 or more calendar w\
orkweeks in the then-current or 
immediately preceding calendar year.
Leave under the NJ SAFE Act may be taken by an employee who is a victim of domestic violence, as\
 that 
term is defined in N.J.S.A. 2C:25-19, or a victim of a sexually violent offense, as that term is defined in 
N.J.S.A. 30:4-27.6. Leave may also be taken by an employee whose child, parent, spouse, domestic partner , 
or civil union partner is a victim of domestic violence or a sexually vi\
olent offense.
Leave under the NJ SAFE Act may be taken for the purpose of engaging in any of the following act\
ivities as 
they relate to an incident of domestic violence or a sexually violent offense:
(1) Seeking medical attention for, or recovering from, physical or psychological injuries caused by 
domestic or sexual violence to the employee or the employee’s child, \
parent, spouse, domestic partner 
or civil union partner
(2) Obtaining services from a victim services organization for the emp\
loyee or the employee’s child, 
parent, spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner
(3) Obtaining psychological or other counseling for the employee or th\
e employee’s child, parent, spouse, 
domestic partner or civil union partner
(4) Participating in safety planning, temporarily or permanently relocating, or taking other actions to 
increase the safety from future domestic violence or sexual violence or to ensure the economic security 
of the employee or the employee’s child, parent, spouse, domestic par\
tner or civil union partner
(5) Seeking legal assistance or remedies to ensure the health and safe\
ty of the employee or the 
employee’s child, parent, spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner, including preparing for or 
participating in any civil or criminal legal proceeding related to or de\
rived from domestic violence or 
sexual violence; or
(6) Attending, participating in or preparing for a criminal or civil court proceeding relating to an 
incident of domestic or sexual violence of which the employee or the emp\
loyee’s child, parent, 
spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner, was a victim.
Leave under the NJ SAFE Act must be used in the 12-month period immediately following an instanc\
e 
of domestic violence or a sexually violent offense. The unpaid leave may be taken intermittently in 
intervals of no less than one day. The unpaid leave shall run concurrently with any paid vacation 
leave, personal leave, or medical or sick leave that the employee elects\
 to use or which the employer 
requires the employee to use during any part of the 20-day period of unp\
aid leave. If the employee 
requests leave for a reason covered by both the NJ SAFE Act and the Family Leave Act, N.J.S.A. 
34:11B-1 et seq., or the federal Family and Medical Leave Act, 20 U.S.C. 2601 et seq., the leave shall 
count simultaneously against the employee’s entitlement under each re\
spective law.
Employees eligible to take leave under the NJ SAFE Act must, if the necessity for the leave is foreseeable, 
provide the employer with written notice of the need for the leave. The employee must provide the employer 
with written notice as far in advance as reasonable and practicable unde\
r the circumstances. The employer 
has the right to require the employee to provide the employer with docum\
entation of the domestic violence or 
sexually violent offense that is the basis for the leave. The employer must retain any documentation provided 
to it in this manner in the strictest confidentiality, unless the disclosure is voluntarily authorized in writing by 
the employee or is authorized by a federal or State law, rule or regulation.
The NJ SAFE Act also prohibits an employer from discharging, harassing or otherwise \
discriminating 
or retaliating or threatening to discharge, harass or otherwise discrimi\
nate against an employee with 
respect to the compensation, terms, conditions or privileges of employme\
nt on the basis that the 
employee took or requested any leave that the employee was entitled to u\
nder the NJ SAFE Act, or 
on the basis that the employee refused to authorize the release of information deemed confidential 
under the NJ SAFE Act.
To obtain relief for a violation of the NJ SAFE Act, an aggrieved person must file a private cause of 
action in the Superior Court within one year of the date of the alleged violation. 
This notice must be conspicuously displayed.
AD-289 (9/13)
New Jersey SAFE Act
LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENTnj.gov/labor
WD
L
NEW JERSEY DEPAR TMENT OF

Other New Jersey Labor Law Posters 5 PDFS

There are an additional ten optional and mandatory New Jersey labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.

Poster Name Poster Type
Mandatory Conscientious Employee Protection Act "Whistleblower Act" Whistleblower Law
Mandatory PR-1, Poster - Unemployment & Disability Insurance Unemployment Law
Mandatory New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law Abstract Minimum Wage Law
Mandatory New Jersey SAFE Act Job Safety Law
Mandatory Employer Obligations to Maintain and Report Records General Labor Law Poster

View all 11 New Jersey labor law posters


Get a 2018 New Jersey all-in-one labor law poster

Instead of printing out pages of mandatory New Jersey and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all New Jersey and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for 2018!

Get 2018 All-In-One Poster Now

Poster Sources:

Disclaimer:

While we do our best to keep our list of New Jersey labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.

** This Document Provided By LaborPosters.org **
Source: http://www.laborposters.org/new-jersey/244-new-jersey-safe-act-poster.htm