New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law Abstract Poster Required
The New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law Abstract is a minimum wage law poster by the New Jersey Department Of Labor and Workforce Development. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in New Jersey, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all employees will see it. This poster describes the requirements for the Minimum Wage as well as requirements for overtime pay, exemptions to the Minimum Wage Law as well as penalties for employers who violate this law.
NJ All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both New Jersey and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
Employees at summer camps, conferences and retreats operated by any nonprofit or religious corporation or association are exempt from minimum and overtime rates during the months of June, July, August and September. Labor on a Farm at Piece-Rate Employees engaged on a piece-rate basis to labor on a farm shall be paid for each day worked not less than the minimum hourly wage rate multiplied by the total number of hours worked. Penalties Any employer who violates any provisions of this act shall be guilty of a disorderly persons violation and upon conviction shall be punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000. As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanctions provided by law for violations, the Commissioner is authorized to assess and collect administrative penalties, up to a maximum of $250 for a first violation and up to a maximum of $500 for each subsequent violation. The employer shall also pay the Commissioner an administrative fee equal to not less than 10% or more than 25% of any payment due to employees. Penalties for violation of this order are set forth in N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a22. New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development Wage and Hour Law Abstract N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a et seq. Display this poster in a conspicuous place MW-220 (6/19) Wage Order and Regulations Employees in the occupations found below are covered by this wage order and regulations and must be paid not less than the statutory minimum wage rate. First processing of farm products Hotel and motel Food service (restaurant industry) Seasonal amusement These regulations are contained in N.J.A.C. 12:56-11.1 et seq. Exemptions Exempt from the statutory minimum wage rate are full- time students employed by the college or university at which they are enrolled at not less than 85% of the effective minimum wage rate; outside sales person; sales person of motor vehicles; part time employees primarily engaged in the care and tending of children in the home of the employer; and minors under 18 (except that minors under 18 in the first processing of farm products, hotels, motels, restaurants, retail, beauty culture, laundry, cleaning, dyeing, light manufacturing and apparel occupations are covered by the wage order rates as above and vocational school graduates with special permits under the Child Labor Law are covered by the statutory rate). Enforced by: NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development Division of Wage and Hour Compliance, PO Box 389, Trenton, NJ 08625 - 0389 • 609-292-2305 This and other required employer posters are available free online at nj.gov/labor , or from the Office of Constituent Relations, PO Box 110, Trenton, NJ 08625 - 0110 • 609-777-3200. If you need this document in Braille or large print, call 609-292-2305. TTY users can contact this department through the New Jersey Relay: 7-1-1. Statutory Minimum Wage Rate Employees are to be paid not less than the New Jersey minimum wage in accordance with the schedule below. Overtime Overtime is payable at the rate of 1.5 times the employee’s regular hourly rate for hours worked in excess of 40 in any week except where otherwise specifically provided by wage order. Exempt from the overtime entitlement are • executive, administrative, and professional employees • employees engaged in labor on a farm or relative to raising or care of livestock; and • limousine drivers. D WL Seasonal & Small Most E mpl oy e r s Agricultural *Cash Wage for Date E mpl oy e r s (few er t han 6) E mpl oy e r s Tipped Wor k er s January 1, 2019$8.85$8.85$8.85$2.13 July 1, 2019 $10.00NO CHANGE NO CHANGE $2.63 January 1, 2020 $11.00$10.30$10.30 $3.13 January 1, 2021 $12.00$11.10NO CHANGE $4.13 January 1, 2022 $13.00$11.90$10.90 $5.13 January 1, 2023 $14.00$12.70$11.70NO CHANGE January 1, 2024 $15.00$13.50$12.50NO CHANGE January 1, 2025 TB D$14.30 $13.40 TB D January 1, 2026 TB D$15.00 $14.20 TB D January 1, 2027 TB DTB D$15.00 TB D * Cash w ag e plus t ips must equal t he minimum w ag e
Other New Jersey Labor Law Posters 5 PDFS
There are an additional ten optional and mandatory New Jersey labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Mandatory Discrimination in Employment Notice||Workers Rights Law|
|Mandatory Conscientious Employee Protection Act "Whistleblower Act"||Whistleblower Law|
|Mandatory PR-1, Poster - Unemployment & Disability Insurance||Unemployment Law|
|Mandatory New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law Abstract||Minimum Wage Law|
|Mandatory New Jersey SAFE Act||Job Safety Law|
While we do our best to keep our list of New Jersey labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.