New Jersey Family Leave Insurance Poster Required
The Family Leave Insurance is a labor law posters poster by the New Jersey Department Of Labor and Workforce Development. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in New Jersey, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.
Updated 4/19. This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all employees will see it. This poster describes instances when an employee can have paid leave from work for up to six (6) weeks including bonding with a child during the first 12 months after the child's birth or caring for a family member. This poster describes who is eligible for this plan as well as who is paying for the insurance.
NJ All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both New Jersey and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development Your employer is su bject to the Fa mily Leave Insurance provisions of the New Jersey Temporary Disability Benefits Law Display this poster in a conspicuous place PR-2 (4/19) Enforced by: NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development Division of Temporary Disability Insurance, PO Box 387, Trenton, NJ 08625-0387 This and other required employer posters are available free online at nj.gov/labor , or from the Office of Constituent Relations, PO Box 110, Trenton, NJ 08625-0110 • 609-777-3200. The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development is an equal opportunity employer with equal opportunity programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. New Jersey law provides up to 6 weeks of family leave insurance benefits. Beginning July 1, 2020, the law will allow up to 12 weeks of continuous family leave or 56 days of intermittent leave. Employees who are covered by family leave insurance can apply for benefits to: • bond with a child within 12 months of the child’s birth or placement by adoption or foster care. The applicant, or the applicant’s spouse or domestic or civil union partner, must be the child’s biological, adoptive or foster parent, unless a surrogate carried the child. • care for a family member with a serious health condition. Supporting documentation from a health care provider is mandatory. • care for a victim of domestic violence or a sexually violent offence or for a victim’s family member. “Family member” means a child, parent, parent-in-law, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, spouse, domestic partner, civil union partner, and any other person related by blood to the employee or with whom the employee has a close association that is the equivalent of a family relationship. “Child” means a biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild or legal ward of a parent. A child gained by way of a valid written contract between the parent and a surrogate (gestational carrier) is included in this definition. State Family Leave Insurance Plan (“state plan”) You can get program information and an application for family leave benefits (form FL-1) online at myleavebenefits.nj.gov , by phone at 609-292-7060, or by mail: Division of Family Leave Insurance, P.O. Box 387, Trenton, NJ 08625-0387. New mothers who receive temporary disability benefits through the state plan for their pregnancy will get instructions on how to file for family leave benefits after the child is born. Private Family Leave Insurance Plan (“private plan”) An employer may provide family leave insurance through a private insurance carrier, if this Division approves the plan. If your employer has an approved private plan, your employer must provide information about coverage and provide the forms to apply for benefits. Who pays for Family Leave Insurance? Payroll contributions from employees finance this program. Family leave insurance coverage under the state plan will require contributions to be deducted from employee wages. The deductions must be noted on the employee’s pay envelope, paycheck, or on some other form of notice. In 2018, the taxable wage base for family leave insurance benefits is the same as the taxable wage base for unemployment and temporary disability insurance.
Other New Jersey Labor Law Posters 4 PDFS
There are an additional twenty optional and mandatory New Jersey labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
- Original poster PDF https://www.nj.gov/labor/forms_pdfs/tdi/fli_poster.pdf , updated June 2023
- New Jersey Labor Law Posters at https://www.nj.gov/labor/wageandhour/tools-resources/forms-publications/employer-poster-packet/
- New Jersey Department Of Labor and Workforce Development
While we do our best to keep our list of New Jersey labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.