Montana Minimum Wage Poster
The Montana Minimum Wage Poster is a labor law posters poster by the Montana Department Of Labor & Industry. This is an optional poster, so while it is recommended that you post this if it is relevant to your employees, you are not required to by the Department Of Labor & Industry.
This poster is optional to post and describes the Minimum Wage Law as well as exceptions to the law, requirements for overtime pay and how payment of wages is to be conducted. This poster also lists where to go to for additional information on this law.
MT All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Montana and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
MONTANA’S MINIMUM WAGE (Effective 1/1/2020) $ 8. 65 * *The minimum wage is subject to a cost -of-living adjustment based on the Consumer Price Index no later than September 30 th of each year. Montana’s minimum wage is to be the greater of the federal or current state minimum wage. Exception: A business not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act whose gross annual sales are $110,000 or less may pay $4.00 per hour. However , if an individual employee is producing or moving goods between states or otherwise covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act, that employee must be paid the greater of either the fede ral minimum wage or Montana’s minimum wage. OVERTIME PAY Employees who work in excess of 40 hours in a workweek must receive overtime compensation at a rate of at least 1½ times their regular hourly rate for those hours worked over 40. There are exclusions from overtime pay. This information can be obtained by calling our office a t (406) 44 4-6543. PAYMENT OF WAGES WHILE STILL EMPLOYED: An employee must be paid within 10 business days after the end of the pay period. WHEN SEPARATED FROM EMPLOYMENT: When an employee quits, wages are due on the next scheduled pay day for the period in which the employee was separated, or 15 calendar days, whichever occurs first. TERMINATED FOR CAUSE: When an employee is laid off or discharged, all wages are due immediately (within four hours or end of the business day, whichever occurs first), unless the emp loyer has a preexisting, written policy that extends the time for payment. The wages cannot be delayed beyond the next pay day for the period in which the separation occurred, or 15 calendar days, whichever occurs first. FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION PLEASE CONTACT: DEPARTMENT OF LABOR & INDUSTRY COMPLIANCE & INVESTIGATIONS BUREAU PO BOX 201503 HELENA MT 59620 -1503 PHONE (406) 444 -6543 EMAIL: [email protected] Please visit us on the web at: www.mtwagehourbopa.com NO TIP CREDIT, TRAINING WAGE OR MEAL CREDIT IS ALLOWED IN THE STATE OF MONTANA
Other Montana Labor Law Posters 1 PDF
There are an additional one optional and mandatory Montana labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
- Original poster PDF http://wsd.dli.mt.gov/Portals/56/Documents/Posters/MINIMUM%20WAGE%20POSTER%20(1-2020).pdf?ver=2019-10-31-114600-023 , updated November 2019
- Montana Labor Law Posters at http://wsd.dli.mt.gov/employers/labor-law-posters
- Montana Department Of Labor & Industry
While we do our best to keep our list of Montana labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.