Maryland Minimum Wage and Overtime Law Poster Required
The Maryland Minimum Wage and Overtime Law is a minimum wage law poster by the Maryland Department Of Labor, Licensing and Regulation. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in Maryland, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all employees will see it. It describes what the minimum wage is for tipped and untipped employees, when the minimum wage will go up, and how much the minimum wage will be when it goes up, information on overtime. It also details exceptions to the Minimum Wage Law and Overtime Law and where to get information or file a complaint of a violation of rights under this law.
MD All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Maryland and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
Minimum Wage Rev. 12/2019 EMPLOYERS ARE REQUIRED BY LAW TO POST THIS INFORMATION. PAY RECORDS MUST BE KEPT FOR 3 YEARS ON OR ABOUT THE PLACE OF WORK. PENALTIES ARE PRESCRIBED FOR VIOLATIONS OF THE LAW. ( L a b or an d Em pl oy m en t Ar t i cl e , T it l e 3 , Su bt it l e 4 , An n ot at e d C o de of Ma r y l an d) Minimum Wage Rates Employers with 15 or more employees: Employers with 14 or fewer employees: Montgomery Co. & Prince Georges Co.: Different minimum wage rates are in effect. Employers in these counties are required to post the applicable rate information. Overtime Most employees must be paid the Maryland State Minimum Wage Rate. Tipped Employees (earning more than $30 per month in tips) must earn the State Minimum Wage Rate per hour. Employers must pay at least $3.63 per hour. This amount plus tips must equal at least the State Minimum Wage Rate. Subject to the adoption of related regulations, restaurant employers who utilize a tip credit are required to provide employees with a written or electronic wage state- ment for each pay period showing the employee’s effective hourly rate of pay including employer paid cash wages plus tips for tip credit hours worked for each workweek of the pay period. Addi- tional information and updates will be posted on the Maryland Department of Labor website. Employees under 18 years of age must earn at least 85% of the State Minimum Wage Rate. Most employees must be paid 1.5 times their usual hourly rate for all work over 40 hrs. per week. Exceptions: Bowling establishments, and institutions providing on -premise care (other than hospitals) to the sick, the aged, or individuals with disabilities for all work over 48 hrs. per week Agricultural workers for all work over 60 hrs. per week Exemptions FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO FILE A COMPLAINT CONTACT : Maryland Department of Labor Division of Labor and Industry —Employment Standards Service 1100 North Eutaw Street, Room 607 Baltimore, MD 21201 Telephone Number: (410) 767 -2357 • Fax Number: (410) 333 -7303 E-mail: dldliemploymentstandards [email protected] Minimum Wage and Overtime Exemptions: Immediate family member of the employer Certain agricultural employees Executives, administrative, and professional employees Volunteers for educational, charitable, religious, and non -profit organizations Employees under 16 working less than 20 hours per week Outside salespersons Commissioned employees Employees enrolled as a trainee as part of a public school special education program Non -administrative employees of organized camps Certain establishments selling food and drink for consumption on the premises grossing less than $400,000 annually Drive -in theaters Establishments engaged in the first canning, packing or freezing of fruits, vegetables, poultry, or seafood Overtime Only Exemptions (must earn the State Minimum Wage Rate): Taxicab drivers Certain employees selling/servicing automobiles, farm equipment, trailers, or trucks Non -profit concert promoter, theater, music festival, music pavilion, or theatrical show Employers subject to certain railroad requirements of the U.S. Dept. of Transportation, the Federal Motor Carrier Act, and the Interstate Commerce Commission Seasonal amusement and recreational establishments that meet certain criteria Maryland Minimum Wage and Overtime Law $11.00 Effective 1/1/20 $11.75 Scheduled 1/1/21 $12.50 Scheduled 1/1/22 $11.00 Effective 1/1/20 $11.60 Scheduled 1/1/21 $12.20 Scheduled 1/1/22
Other Maryland Labor Law Posters 5 PDFS
There are an additional ten optional and mandatory Maryland labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
|Poster Name||Poster Type|
|Mandatory DLLR/OUI 328 to Employees||Unemployment Law|
|Mandatory Maryland Earned Sick and Paid Leave Notice||Sick Leave Law|
|Mandatory Maryland Minimum Wage and Overtime Law||Minimum Wage Law|
|Mandatory DLLR PUB/OUI 6116||Health Insurance Law|
|Mandatory Workers' Compensation||General Labor Law Poster|
While we do our best to keep our list of Maryland labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.