Michigan Workforce Opportunity Wage Act Minimum Wage & Overtime Poster Required
The Workforce Opportunity Wage Act Minimum Wage & Overtime Poster is a labor law posters poster by the Michigan Department Of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in Michigan, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions.
This poster must be posted in a conspicuous place where all employees will see it. It describes what the minimum wage is in Michigan as well as stating various requirements employers need to fulfill to not violate this law. The poster also describes everything employees and employers need to know about the minimum wage, overtime hours, compensatory time, and equal pay. It lists the minimum wage increase for 2018, 2019, 2020, and 2021 years.
MI All-In-One Labor Poster: Instead of printing out dozens of posters, employers can also purchase an all-in-one poster that covers both Michigan and Federal poster requirements by clicking here .
GRETC HEN WHITMER GOVERNOR Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity Wage and Hour Division PO Box 30476 Lansing, MI 48909-7976 REQUIRED POSTER GENERAL REQUIREMENTS - MINIMUM WAGE and OVERTIME JEFF DONOFRIO DIRECTOR LEO is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids, services and other reasonab le accommodations are available, upon request, to individuals with disabilities. www.michigan.gov/wagehour • Toll Free 1-855-4MI-WAGE (1-8 55-4 64-9 243) WHD 9904 (Revised • 9/2019) Coverage The Improved W orkforce Opportunity W age A ct (IWOWA) , Pu blic Act 337 of 2018 , as amended , covers employers who employ 2 or more employees 16 years of age and older. Minimum Hourly Wage Rate Employees must be paid at least : Effective Date Minimum H ourly Wage R ate Tipped Empl oyee 85% ** Hourly Rate Minimum Hourly Rate Reported Average Hourly Tips January 1, 2018 $9.25 $3.52 $5.73 $7.86 March 29, 2019 $ 9.45 $ 3.59 $5. 86 $8. 0 3 January 1, 2020 * $9. 65 $ 3.67 $ 5.98 $8.20 January 1, 20 21 * $ 9.87 $ 3. 7 5 $ 6.12 $ 8.39 * A n incr ease in the minimum hourly wage rate as pr escribed in subsection (1) does not take effect if the unemployment rate for this state, as determined by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, United States Department of Labor, is 8.5% or greate r for the calendar year preceding the calendar year of the prescri bed increase. An increase in the minimum hourly wage rate as prescribed in subsection (1) that does not take effect pursuant to this subsection takes effect i n the first calendar year follow i n g a calendar yea r for which the unemployment rate for this state , as determined by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, United States Department of Labor, is less than 8.5%. * * Minors 16 - 17 years of age may be paid 85% of the minimum hourly wage rate. Train i n g W age A training wage of $4.25 per hour may be paid to employees 1 6 to 19 years of age for the first 90 days of employment. Overtime E mployees covered by the IWOWA must be paid 1 - 1/2 times their regular rate of pay for hours worked over 40 in a 7 - day w or kwe e k . The following are exemp t from overtime requirements: employees ex empt from the minimum wage provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 USC 201 to 219 (excep t certain domestic service employees), professional, administrative, or executi ve em p loyees; elected officials and political appointees; employees of amu sement and recreational establishments operating less than 7 months of the year; agricultural employees , and any employee not subject to the minimum wage provisions of the act. Comp en s a t ory Time If an employer m eets certain conditions, employees may agr ee to receive compensatory time of 1 - 1/2 hours for each hour of overtime worked. The agreement must be voluntary, in writing, and obtained before the compensatory time is earned. All c om p en satory time earned must be paid to an employee. Accrued compensat ory time may not exceed 240 hours. Employers must keep a record of compensatory time earned and paid. Contact the Wage and Hour Division for information on the conditions an employer mus t mee t in order to offer co mpensatory time off in lieu of overtime co mpensation. Equal Pay An employer shall not discriminate on the basis of sex by paying employees a rat e which is less than the rate paid to employees of the opposite sex for equal work o n job s requiring equal skil l, effort, and responsibility performed un der similar working conditions - except where payment is pursuant to a seniority system, merit system o r system measuring earnings on the basis of quantity or quality of production or a d i f fer ential other than sex. Enforcement An employee may either file civil action for recovery of unpaid minimum wages or overtime, or they may file a complaint with the De partment of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs . The department may investigate a comp l ai nt and file civil action to collect unpaid wages or overtime due t he employee and all employees of an establishment. Recovery under this act can include unpaid minimum wages or overtime, plus an equal additional amount as liquidated damages, costs, and r ea son able attorney fees. A civil fine of $1,000 can be assessed to an employer who does not pay minimum wage or overtime.
Other Michigan Labor Law Posters 4 PDFS
There are an additional seventeen optional and mandatory Michigan labor law posters that may be relevant to your business. Be sure to also print all relevant state labor law posters, as well as all mandatory federal labor law posters.
- Original poster PDF https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Minimum_Wage_Poster_644740_7.pdf , updated January 2020
- Michigan Labor Law Posters at http://michigan.gov/uia/0,1607,7-118-26899-78362--,00.html
- Michigan Department Of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
While we do our best to keep our list of Michigan labor law posters up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors or omissions. Is the poster on this page out-of-date or not working? Please let us know and we will fix it ASAP.